I don't know what type of vegetarian I am - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 09-27-2007, 08:12 PM
Newbie
 
enkai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23




*well, i know i am a vegetarian, thats for sure.



*sometimes i have to eat meat at my house when there is nothing else, in a VERY VERY VERY RARE occasion. other than that i stick to my plan.



*I eat eggs



*I eat dairy products, but I am trying to plan on cutting down on it



*I do not eat any meat of any kind



*No jello either, but marshmallows which are made of pig skin



When it comes down to this, what kind of vegetarian am I?
enkai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 09-28-2007, 12:12 AM
Kiz
Veggie Regular
 
Kiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,132
You contradict yourself. One moment you say "sometimes I have to eat meat" then you say " I do not eat meat". Either you do or you don't. If you don't eat meat you are lacto-vegetarian (presuming you don't eat eggs, you didn't mention them. If you do eat meat you are not vegetarian.

Love the post? Why not buy the T-shirt!
http://www.kiz-shop.de/index.php?page=categorie&cat=8
http://www.kiz-shop.de/index.php?page=product&info=94
Kiz is offline  
#3 Old 09-28-2007, 05:38 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Mr_Vegan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiz View Post

You contradict yourself. One moment you say "sometimes I have to eat meat" then you say " I do not eat meat". Either you do or you don't. If you don't eat meat you are lacto-vegetarian (presuming you don't eat eggs, you didn't mention them. If you do eat meat you are not vegetarian.

I have to agree with Kiz. Now, I can understand your situation, though. If given the choice, you don't eat meat, which would make you a type of vegetarian. But, you didn't mention eggs either, so it makes it harder to classify you. Give us more detail, and correct the minor contradiction (I'm not trying to sound rude if I do), and we can help a little more.
Mr_Vegan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 09-28-2007, 07:21 AM
Veggie Regular
 
trying_to_be's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
hmm being vegiteran mean no meat....
trying_to_be is offline  
#5 Old 09-28-2007, 08:50 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Fona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,204
You would be lacto-ovo but the gelatin(or pig skin ) in the marshmallows will make you an omni because you're eating dead animals. If you cut out the marshmallows then you would be a vegetarian.
Fona is offline  
#6 Old 09-28-2007, 04:09 PM
Beginner
 
animall0versist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 187
If you eat meat at all you're a meat eater
animall0versist is offline  
#7 Old 09-28-2007, 04:46 PM
Newbie
 
enkai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by animall0versist View Post

If you eat meat at all you're a meat eater

well, it's not my fault, sometimes my mom makes something and there is absolutley nothing else to eat. i would definetly not eat any meat if i had mroe things to have at home. but like i said, it only happens in a VERY VERY VERY VERY rare while. so, ya i guess i will have to give up marshmallows... but what about smores...
enkai is offline  
#8 Old 09-28-2007, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
enkai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Vegan View Post

I have to agree with Kiz. Now, I can understand your situation, though. If given the choice, you don't eat meat, which would make you a type of vegetarian. But, you didn't mention eggs either, so it makes it harder to classify you. Give us more detail, and correct the minor contradiction (I'm not trying to sound rude if I do), and we can help a little more.

ok i will be more specific. my parents have been making more things for me lately as well as making things for myself, so i am absolutely sure i dont eat meat anymore. (Yay). but i still cant resist milk and eggs, so i still eat that. i only eat eggs once in a while, but i eat dairy almost everyday (i wish i didnt). i think that is as specific as i can get unless u r asking any other questions.
enkai is offline  
#9 Old 09-28-2007, 04:53 PM
Newbie
 
enkai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr_Vegan View Post

I have to agree with Kiz. Now, I can understand your situation, though. If given the choice, you don't eat meat, which would make you a type of vegetarian. But, you didn't mention eggs either, so it makes it harder to classify you. Give us more detail, and correct the minor contradiction (I'm not trying to sound rude if I do), and we can help a little more.

yes i did mention eggs, look at my first post
enkai is offline  
#10 Old 09-28-2007, 06:41 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Margaux's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 204
Hi,



If you don't eat meat at all (or gelatin and products made of animals) but you still eat eggs and dairy, you would be an ovo-lacto vegetarian. Ovo for eggs and lacto for dairy. Thats what I am. One day, maybe when I go to college I will become a vegan.
Margaux is offline  
#11 Old 09-28-2007, 08:10 PM
Beginner
 
animall0versist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 187
i havent eaten meat since i was a little girl, and even when there is no other option i would just not eat
animall0versist is offline  
#12 Old 09-28-2007, 10:02 PM
Newbie
 
enkai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
thanks guys. you really helped me out and now i know that i am a lacto ovo vegetarian.
enkai is offline  
#13 Old 10-02-2007, 06:36 AM
Veggie Regular
 
trying_to_be's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
not realyy. veggie= not eating meat.



that doesn't mean not eating meat when you feel like it. you aren't really veggie.
trying_to_be is offline  
#14 Old 10-02-2007, 08:25 PM
Newbie
 
enkai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by trying_to_be View Post

not realyy. veggie= not eating meat.



that doesn't mean not eating meat when you feel like it. you aren't really veggie.

i dont eat meat anymore... -_- i said that earlier...and i don't eat marshmallows anymore either.
enkai is offline  
#15 Old 10-07-2007, 04:04 PM
Guest
 
SpiritHow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fona View Post

You would be lacto-ovo but the gelatin(or pig skin ) in the marshmallows will make you an omni because you're eating dead animals. If you cut out the marshmallows then you would be a vegetarian.

I disagree. Vegitarians dont eat MEAT.

Vegans deal with the bi-products part. Gelatin I was told was made out of hooves, bugs, and now big-skin, so Im a bit confused, but over all-

I do believe gelatin is a bi-product, corect me if Im wrong.

Allso- you would be lacto(dairy)-ovo(eggs).
SpiritHow is offline  
#16 Old 10-07-2007, 06:08 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpiritHowl View Post

I disagree. Vegitarians dont eat MEAT.

Vegans deal with the bi-products part. Gelatin I was told was made out of hooves, bugs, and now big-skin, so Im a bit confused, but over all-

I do believe gelatin is a bi-product, corect me if Im wrong.

Allso- you would be lacto(dairy)-ovo(eggs).



A vegetarian who's veggie for moral/ethical reasons won't eat the bi-products such as gelatine (which is made from hooves), animal rennet (it's the lining of calves' stomachs) or wear leather as an animal has had to die for the product to be produced. A health vegetarian may not care about the bi-products but then they wouldn't truly be vegetarian.



It's not just vegans who "deal" with the bi-products part thank you very much.

Things with any parts of dead animals are NOT vegetarian. Why on earth are all the products with gelatine in them classed as "not suitable for vegetarians" even though they don't have meat in them?



Let's look up a dictionary definition of vegetarian shall we?

"People who leave meat, poultry, fish and other animal-derived foods out of their diets."

From Wikipedia: "Vegetarianism is the practice of a diet that excludes all animal flesh, including poultry, game, fish, shellfish or crustacea, and slaughter by-products."



Enough said.
GhostUser is offline  
#17 Old 10-07-2007, 08:51 PM
Veggie Regular
 
tasha_s1298's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 200
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serenstar View Post

A vegetarian who's veggie for moral/ethical reasons won't eat the bi-products such as gelatine (which is made from hooves), animal rennet (it's the lining of calves' stomachs) or wear leather as an animal has had to die for the product to be produced. A health vegetarian may not care about the bi-products but then they wouldn't truly be vegetarian.



It's not just vegans who "deal" with the bi-products part thank you very much.

Things with any parts of dead animals are NOT vegetarian. Why on earth are all the products with gelatine in them classed as "not suitable for vegetarians" even though they don't have meat in them?



Let's look up a dictionary definition of vegetarian shall we?

"People who leave meat, poultry, fish and other animal-derived foods out of their diets."

From Wikipedia: "Vegetarianism is the practice of a diet that excludes all animal flesh, including poultry, game, fish, shellfish or crustacea, and slaughter by-products."



Enough said.



You sound angry. Have a smile.
tasha_s1298 is offline  
#18 Old 10-08-2007, 12:39 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Scythe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serenstar View Post

A vegetarian who's veggie for moral/ethical reasons won't eat the bi-products such as gelatine (which is made from hooves), animal rennet (it's the lining of calves' stomachs) or wear leather as an animal has had to die for the product to be produced. A health vegetarian may not care about the bi-products but then they wouldn't truly be vegetarian.



It's not just vegans who "deal" with the bi-products part thank you very much.

Things with any parts of dead animals are NOT vegetarian. Why on earth are all the products with gelatine in them classed as "not suitable for vegetarians" even though they don't have meat in them?



Let's look up a dictionary definition of vegetarian shall we?

"People who leave meat, poultry, fish and other animal-derived foods out of their diets."

From Wikipedia: "Vegetarianism is the practice of a diet that excludes all animal flesh, including poultry, game, fish, shellfish or crustacea, and slaughter by-products."



Enough said.



Vegetarianism is a diet, and does not cover leather (unless you eat it.) Furthermore, some of those who are vegetarian for ethical reasons will use leather that they had already payed for, or was being sold second-hand, as it does not contribute any further to the industry.
Scythe is offline  
#19 Old 10-09-2007, 12:01 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by tasha_s1298 View Post

You sound angry. Have a smile.



I got more and more angry as I wrote the post. Only getting an hour of sleep for 3 nights does that to me..
GhostUser is offline  
#20 Old 10-09-2007, 04:18 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
You're the non existent type of vegetarian.
GhostUser is offline  
#21 Old 10-13-2007, 08:37 AM
Veggie Regular
 
trying_to_be's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by enkai View Post

i dont eat meat anymore... -_- i said that earlier...and i don't eat marshmallows anymore either.



then if you don't eat met or animal biproaducts then your a normal veggie

( octo w/e)
trying_to_be is offline  
#22 Old 10-29-2007, 10:50 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Fona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,204
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpiritHowl View Post

I disagree. Vegitarians dont eat MEAT.

Vegans deal with the bi-products part. Gelatin I was told was made out of hooves, bugs, and now big-skin, so Im a bit confused, but over all-

I do believe gelatin is a bi-product, corect me if Im wrong.

Allso- you would be lacto(dairy)-ovo(eggs).



So whats the point in not eating the meat if you're going to eat the rest of the animal?

The way you're saying it its ok for a vegetarian to eat the dead animal's blood, bones, hooves, eyes, skin etc as long as they don't consume the muscle tissue.

I would call that an omnivore as it consumes the corpses of animals.

This is not personal preferance its common knowlege.





btw gelatin is made of bones and hooves ground up, not bugs
Fona is offline  
#23 Old 10-29-2007, 08:27 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Vegetarians do not eat anything that results in the DIRECT killing of the animals. Meat & Gelatin.



Vegans do not eat ANY animal products. Direct or Indrect murder.
GhostUser is offline  
#24 Old 10-29-2007, 08:29 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Serenstar View Post

Why on earth are all the products with gelatine in them classed as "not suitable for vegetarians" even though they don't have meat in them?



Not everyone has the wonderful system of food labels such as these...
GhostUser is offline  
#25 Old 11-06-2007, 04:38 AM
Banned
 
BlackTears[x]_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 115
Quote:
Originally Posted by animall0versist View Post

i havent eaten meat since i was a little girl, and even when there is no other option i would just not eat



I'm the same.

I am vegan, and if there is nothin in the house that is vegan then i wouldn't eat. Simple as...seems a bit harsh but i wouldn't just eat meat or dairy because theres nothin else.

Then i would make sure i go shopping the next day to get some food =]



But if you eat meat then you are a meat eater...simple as



F x
BlackTears[x]_ is offline  
#26 Old 11-06-2007, 09:22 AM
Banned
 
sprinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
I don`t eat meat but i can`t resist any form of chocolate!And i never check if it`s vegetarian or not,and i do eat meat if there`s nothing else in the house,on a very very rare occasion.so i do know were your coming from.
sprinky is offline  
#27 Old 11-09-2007, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
Zara_Jane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
Gelatin is a translucent, colourless, brittle, nearly tasteless solid substance, extracted from the collagen inside animals' connective tissue.

and

Blood, cartilage, and bone are usually considered connective tissue





....I think that being vegetarian means eliminating such things from ones diet...right?





Sorry if that seemed a bit snappy! Especially as its my first post!
Zara_Jane is offline  
#28 Old 11-09-2007, 12:14 PM
Beginner
 
Nickster25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 104
You're lacto-ovo. You can still be lacto-ovo and eat marshmellows all that means is you're not a vegan. Plenty of vegetarians eat butter and yogurt and drink milk but they are still vegetarians. All of those items have animal byproducts in them just like marhsmellows.
Nickster25 is offline  
#29 Old 11-10-2007, 06:57 AM
Newbie
 
SuperBassGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Taking into consideration the changes you have made in you diet since the first post, you are lacto-ovo vegetarian.
SuperBassGirl is offline  
#30 Old 11-11-2007, 07:01 PM
Newbie
 
megamoose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 34
psh.. you're a flexitarian.. which pretty much means you're an omni who eats meat rarely... i actually really hate this term but if it makes you happy go for it.



i think you should stop beating around the bush and just go veg though... it's not that difficult and I'm sure there's like a can of beans or something like that in you'rehouse that isn't meat. And if meat is actually ALL you have in your house (which i doubt), go spend 25 cents on ramen.



if you want to be a vegetarian then be one, and don't call yourself one if your not... not to be rude but it makes you sound like a hypocrite.
megamoose is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off