strict veg/ vegan since Sept. '04. kind of complicated.. i don't eat meat/dairy/eggs/honey ever by themselves and won't eat anything with any of that in it.. BUT i will if it would be wasted otherwise/ i'm not adding to the cruelty (like if I know that no more will be bought if i eat it) for instance, there's this Honey Comb cereal my mom bought a while ago.. and they're getting stale because no one's eating them so I'll eat it. obviously no one likes them so it won't be bought again. those kind of situations.) so technically i'm strict vegetarian since i will consume this stuff once in awhile. doesn't matter the reason for eating it as far as the label vegan goes.