Host family problems... - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-21-2004, 05:21 AM
Veggie Regular

So I'm an exchange student in Taiwan and I've become vegan in Taiwan.. ya and I just got in a fight with my host Mom about it. I came home from school and there were two bowls of already cooked veggies on the table that my Grandma had cooked for my Mom and I. They looked identical, except for one had more soup stuff, so I figured one had meat broth (for my Mom) and one didn't. So I suggested I call my Grandma and ask which one was for me and which for my Mom. My Mom was like, "I prepared those! And they both don't have meat! You're so troublesome!" But I persisted there was the possibility and so we called up Grandma and as it turns out my Mom was right.. the two bowls of vegetables were identical, both without meat. So of course I looked even more bad.. like I hadn't believed in my host Mom, and so she was upset.

She persisted it's not fair that I became vegan in Taiwan and so they didn't really know what they were getting into by hosting me. She thinks it's annoying preparing vegetarian stuff just for me.. she insists on making like 3 plates of veggies so that I'm getting enough, even though I tell her one plate of veggies is just fine. I try to help in anyway. I said I would prepare veggies on my own and I didn't really get an answer if that was ok or not. She scared that if she doesn't go out of her way to make me veggies than it will look like they're a bad host family, but yet she persists in saying how annoying it is that I don't just "eat what the family eats." She knows I won't go back to omni and I know I won't go back either... so any tips? Sorry this is so long, but I needed to vent.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-22-2004, 12:02 PM
Veggie Regular