Soy Milk for baby? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 07-05-2008, 01:31 PM

I'm very new to the vegan lifestyle. My son is 16 months old and still needs milk in his diet. I didn't see a vegan milk @ the local organic/vegan store (we live in a small town, so I'm not sure if there's an option or if they don't carry it - I didn't ask bc I didn't want to seem silly, I know, I know) is soy milk the option to go with? Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-06-2008, 11:58 AM
Veggie Regular

Not sure if you're looking for a vegan cow's milk, but it doesn't exist. Cow's milk isn't vegan, no matter how the animals used to produce them were raised, because animal products aren't vegan. They are ovo-lacto vegetarian, but not vegan. Plant-based beverages, like soy milk, usually are vegan, though. Check the ingredient label to be sure.

At 16 months old, he should be able to have full-fat soy milk. Just make sure to get one that is fortified with calcium, vitamin D2 (vitamin D3 isn't vegan), and vitamin B12. Silk, Soy Dream, 8th Continent, Vitasoy, Edensoy, and Westsoy are some of the brands that you may find (there are others and many grocery store chains have their own in house brands of soy milk, too). They sell soy milk in cartons in the refrigerated section near the regular milk, they sell it in aseptic packages on the shelf, and they sell soy milk powder.

Steer clear from the low-fat or fat-free soy milk until he's 2 or 3 at least, though. Young children need the extra fat in their diet for eye and brain development and to help keep growing as they're so active at that age!