vegetarian pregnancy, any advice? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-20-2005, 12:08 PM

Hello all I am new to this board, new to being a vegetarian, and almost 4 months pregnant

I have been eating less and less meat through the past 2 years, and when I got pregnant... I became disgusted by meat and refused to eat it. I try to suppliment with lots of veggies, and soy products (soy milk esp)... but I want to make sure that I am doing this right.

How much soy should I take in for me and baby?

What other things might I be missing out by not eating meat?

Any advice or comments would be apprecaited I am new to ALL of this (vegetarian and pregnancy)

Thanks my veggie friends
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-20-2005, 12:18 PM
Banned

Congratz

Read "Becoming Vegetarian" and "Becoming Vegan" (even if you aren't vegan, it has some great information on pregnacy). It will help a lot without overwhelming you.

But a quick summary would be: Eat lots of different foods. Take your prenatal vitamins. Watch your iron (eat lots of whole grains, green veggies, and beans), watch your calcium (eat lots of veggies, beans, some nuts, and soy), and get a good dose of omega-3 fatties in you every day (walnuts , uncooked flaxseed oil - which makes a great oil replacement in homemade salad dressing), and B12 (that'll be in your prenatals plus in nutritional yeast and your soy milk). And, rest, take your time, dont' stress, and don't worry if you cry when they give you the pillow at the maternity store
#3 Old 10-20-2005, 12:52 PM
Veggie Regular

Have you thought about seeing a nutritionist? I had to see one to learn to eat the right way when I was pregnant because I was diabetic. It made life alot easier knowing that I was following a meal plan designed by a professional then second guess what I should or should not be eating.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 10-20-2005, 12:59 PM

I should have mentioned that I do: