VeggieBoards

VeggieBoards (https://www.veggieboards.com/forum/)
-   Raising Vegetarian Children (https://www.veggieboards.com/forum/31-raising-vegetarian-children/)
-   -   Bullying (https://www.veggieboards.com/forum/31-raising-vegetarian-children/19758-bullying.html)

potatopie 08-21-2004 04:01 PM

First, let me say that I don't have children, but alot of my friends have started having children so I've been thinking a bit about the issues involved in bringing up veg children.

The thing I keep coming back to is bullying.We all know that growing up can be a difficult process at times and children can be extremely cruel to anyone who is even slightly different so are we simply adding unnecessary problems to their lives by enforcing our views on them?Views which in time they may well come to disagree with.

Like I say, I have no personal experience in this area so feel free to give me a swift kick in the balls if ya think I'm way off.

Tame 08-21-2004 04:05 PM

No more so than by any other parenting decision that veg*n parents would make.

If you don't let your kid dress a certain way, some one may single him/her out as a target.

Same for other lifestyle choices.

As a parent, you can't worry about that. You raise your child the best you can, do what you think is right, and hopefully raise them to be able to stand up for themselves.

clickman 08-21-2004 04:57 PM

Tell the frickin' kid to suck it up.

(I'd make a great parent.)

Thalia 08-21-2004 07:06 PM

I think raising a confident and sociable child has way more influence. A loner kid with fear in his eye will be the target of bullies regardless of dress, or anything else. There were always kids in my school who might have been poor or bad at sports but their personalities kept them from being the targets of taunts. On the other hand there were kids who no matter what they wore or how good at sports they were or how pretty, if they carried themselves poorly they were picked on.