Planning pregnancy...how'd you convince your omni-hubby partner family to raise veg? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 05-31-2010, 06:40 PM
Veggie Regular

Allright so, Hubby and I talked. We are planning on trying to get pregnant. We'll be starting in a year or 2, its a way off but I'd like to start preparing now!

I'm fairly new to vegetarianism and veganism. What helped you guys convince your SO's and family that it's healthier to raise the child veggie?

What did you prepare for in regards to this? And prepare for the pregnancy?

I know there's lots of time here for me, but I'd like to know and plan so that way when it does happen, I'm ready! So thanks for the help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-05-2010, 10:27 PM
Veggie Regular

we came to an impasse. DH believes that omnivorism (pasture raised, local meats/dairy/etc) is optimal; i don't care about optimal just a healthy diet in general (i do not believe that any one diet is optimal fo reveryone) and wanted to raise DS veggie.

once DS was born, he was on breast milk until 8 mo, when he started eating foods on his own (baby lead weaning--no purees or food introduction, he just ate what i ate). after 18 mo, he started trying his dad's foods (meat), and now he eats whatever he wants. so, he's technically omnivorous, though he mostly eats vegetarian because he's with me most of the time.

for vegetarian pregnancy, there's lots of info out there.
#3 Old 06-06-2010, 10:56 PM
Veggie Regular

True and I'm just starting out.. I mean I have 1 year or so to plan this out....but I want to make sure I'm good. I'm not too sure what the hubby things yet. But, I think he'll pretty much let me do what is healthiest. Do you ever deal with your family? Any recommended books? I also want to plan now just in case we get pregnant sooner, ya know what I mean? :P

Thank you!!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 06-07-2010, 04:25 AM
Veggie Regular