Takes 4Ever to Shut Windows Down - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-10-2006, 12:19 AM
Veggie Regular

Whenever I attempt to shut my computer down using the normal routine...(click start menu, select turn off computer)...it seems to take forever to shut down Windows. As a matter of fact, I have to repeat the shut down process several times. I've attempted Control-Alt-Delete to access the task manager to see if something is still running, but have had no success. At times I have had to resort to holding the power button until my computer shuts down. My computer is less than a year old, with minimal use. I've got the appropriate virus software and popup blockers installed. It is almost as if an application is continuing to run and holding up the shut down process? How can I determine what might be hanging up the works?

Any ideas?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-10-2006, 02:11 AM
Veggie Regular

I'm no techie, but I'll take a stab at this: Perhaps there's spyware messing up your computer. Do you also have anti-spyware software installed? If not, go to http://www.lavasoft.com and install Ad-Aware. They have a free version for personal use. I run it on both my home and work pooters every week.

*this space not for sale*
#3 Old 02-10-2006, 03:37 AM
Veggie Regular

Get rid of Windows, it's a pile of trash.

http://www.ubuntu.com this is nice and easy to use and is free-software. Oh it also doesn't get virus' or spyware or any of those other problems that Windows suffers from.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 02-10-2006, 09:48 PM

This happens to me all the time. I've just grown to accept it even though it's annoying as crap. Do you also have to close programs, only to find you still have to go to start shutdown again and again? Same thing with ctrl+alt+del a program. It freaking takes forever.