manure? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-14-2009, 09:52 PM
Veggie Regular

does anyone use it?

my husband's uncle raises cows on a small hobby farm. he gave my inlaws a bunch of manure for their gardens, there's a big heap out in the field that's been there for a couple years, they said i can take some for my garden this year if i want. i'm not sure, i've never used it, but i'm a newbie to gardening in general. does it make a big difference? does the fact that it's been composting for a while make a difference? they don't turn it or anything so i dunno how good it is at this point.

i'm not worried about the ethical dillema, it's already there and no animals were harmed to get it. the fact that he raises cows for meat is not something i like but if i were to use manure i'd rather take it from them, well treated and free range organic, etc, rather than buying it from the store where the source is questionable. i wouldn't buy manure but i don't see a problem in using it from a family farm where you know how the animals are treated. i just don't know what to do with it or if it's even worth doing

any advice?

I'm singin' here to get rid of fear
Hope it disappears right here with the rain
But I know life is pain, not like a fairytale
Meaningless to pray, so just goin' on my way
~Miyavi "Torture"
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-15-2009, 03:10 AM
Veggie Regular

The only compost i use is garden compost(what i make myself from grass,peelings,shredded paper,vacuum bag contents).At present i've not used it around my veggie plants but my flowers and bushes grow like monster with this stuff
#3 Old 04-15-2009, 03:57 PM

It may stick but its good ****. I grew up on a farm (horses but still) our gardens were always a mix of sole and manure. It doesn't get worse with age - it doesn't smell as much the older it is and still holds nutrients. Manure is great to winter covering your roses too.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 04-16-2009, 11:05 AM
Veggie Regular