Compost Pile - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 07-28-2006, 02:55 AM

Im starting a garden and I have a ton of things already growing but I am really amateur at everything. Can anyone help me out with the simplest way to make a compost pile for my garden

I even subscribed to organic gardening magazine so Im trying. Im just new at this
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 07-28-2006, 05:00 AM

It might help if you go to a library and check out some books, that's how I learned the basics. Then you can see what to do with the materials you have, because there's a ton of ways to compost with different methods, and different materials.
#3 Old 07-28-2006, 04:27 PM
Veggie Regular

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 07-29-2006, 05:02 PM
Veggie Regular

I just do it the old fashioned way and dump all plant material into a pile surrounded by chicken wire to keep it all in bounds.

Never have done the closed /hot pile method but it seems to be all the rage these days, but my grandma just tossed it all in a pile and so do I.

It breaks down fine and I have no issues with insects or anything I do however get interesting plants growing out of it here and there not weeds just plants from the seeds that get dumped in there, everything from tomatos to melons can sprout out of there.

The only thing you havbe to do to prevent problems seems to be making sure you have a good amount of leaves in the pile as well as the everyday stuff from your food.
#5 Old 07-29-2006, 07:02 PM
Veggie Regular

The hot pile method actually loses more nutrients which flash off as methane and carbon dioxide - cold pile/slow composting is better for retaining nutrients. Plus good for us lazy types!
#6 Old 07-29-2006, 10:48 PM
Beginner

I want to start a compost pile with pulp leftover from juicing, but a friend told me to make sure not to add too much citrus/fruit pulp - that green pulp is better for deterring unwanted pests. Is this true? If so, why?
#7 Old 07-30-2006, 12:03 PM
Veggie Regular