I need help with this, Please... [work/customer issue] - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 11-04-2008, 09:39 AM
Veggie Regular

First off, this may be a little long. Second, Thank You So Much to those of you who take the time to read this post, as it is something that has given me so much angst for 3 days now. I really need help moving forward from it.

Anyways, I work in a restaurant, and Saturday evening, towards the end of my shift, I still had two tables sitting side by side. One table, a married couple, paid their bill with cash. I went back to make change, and returned with their check and a coffee pot (to refill their coffee) in the same hand. The man said, "No, that's fine (meaning his coffee), though I thought he saw the check book as well and thought he meant I could keep the change. *Now, here is a mistake I acknowledge I made: I should've put the bill down anyway. I just didn't want to seem like I wasn't "with it," since the issue of my being a newbie at this restaurant was already brought up.

A few minutes go by, and the wife says, "Hun-- we need our receipt." So I go back and bring them a receipt from the batch of receipts that I'm supposed to keep.

Then, the husband comes up and says, "You know-- it's customary to bring change back to the table." I answer, "Oh-- I'm so sorry. I thought you said it was 'fine.' My misunderstanding," and I calmly and politely made him his change. The busboy was next to me, looking on. The man proceeds to begin taking money from my book, saying, "Here- I'll just take this and you can keep the rest." To which I reply, "Please wait. Let me count it out first for you so that there's no mix-up and I don't get confused."

He walks out with his $3 and says, "Well, we wouldn't want you to get confused." That didn't sit well with me. I had inklings that something bad was going to happen.