Dating people with kids - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-15-2007, 05:03 PM
Veggie Regular

I recently stopped talking to a guy I had been building a friendship with for about 6 months. He has a son whom he talked about quite a lot from the get go. He sent me pictures and told me about the cool smart things he does and says(just turned five and very into science and vegetarianism- my kind of kid). I went to the zoo with them once and he liked me (said I'm one of the few adults who aren't "boring".)

My friend starting having "lifestyle changes" which may not be in his son's best interests. It really bothered me, I was somewhat surprised at how sad it made me. This was a big part of why I decided to take a break from him (there are other factors I won't get into).

So now I am wondering, a lot of people I might date have kids, and I almost want to say I don't want to know much about them or meet them until it's serious. I don't want it to influence me or cause me distress if we stopped dating. It reminds me of when I had a boyfriend and when we broke up I was especially sad bc I really liked his family and their dog!

Anyone with experience in this area?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-16-2007, 07:22 AM
Veggie Regular

I once dated a woman with a magnificent cat. I ended up liking the cat far more than the woman. It seems to me that you can't separate a person from their immediate dependents - they're a complete package. Either you swallow the whole enchilada or you back away from the dish.
#3 Old 09-16-2007, 11:20 AM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by RunsWithFoxes View Post

I once dated a woman with a magnificent cat. I ended up liking the cat far more than the woman. It seems to me that you can't separate a person from their immediate dependents - they're a complete package. Either you swallow the whole enchilada or you back away from the dish.