My father: uncaring jerk-o? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-23-2006, 04:51 AM

Hey all,

So, last night I was visiting with my parents... and partway through the evening, my father starts telling me a story in which he ends up calling street people/homeless folks "human litter", and ranting about how we need to get them all off the streets so they don't give the city a bad impression to tourists. He also made some commetns to the effect that the reason people are homeless is because they lazy, and they should just get jobs at McDonald's...

I was appalled. "Human litter"????!

I did make a calm comment about a) the fact that ther are myriad reasons that people wind up in the streets, and b) to call them dehumanizing names is not very helpful.

I feel terrible for not taking him completely to task for his non-compassionate, *******ly, closed-minded mentality on this issue...I am not good with conflict, and avoid it with my parents whenever I can. I tend to fly under the radar with them.

(Keep in mind I am a grown woman with her own life, so quite often I just take a deep breath and wait for the moment when I can go back to my own house and not have to deal with them).

I also felt terribly because his comments served to highlight just how differently we think about the world-- and that saddened me greatly. But mostly, I was angry at myself for not having the balls/eggs to really, really call him on his comments.

I am debating sending him an email today, but again, am afraid of 'getting into it' with him, or having him blow me off as 'too sensitive' or whatever.

Meh. Just wanted to vent someplace where perhaps folks could commiserate.

Thanks for reading.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-23-2006, 05:53 AM
Veggie Regular