how did your family and friends react to you being vegetarian/vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 02-01-2010, 08:04 AM

Hi, all,

I'm a newbie. Hubby and I plan to become vegan in the next 6 weeks or so - delay is so that we can use up the stuff in our freezer.

Question: how did your family and friends react when you told them you were going or had become vegetarian/vegan? Did you tell them while you were still planning or did you wait until you had already started?

Related question: how did/do you deal with social gatherings? We like inviting people over for dinner. Do you serve vegan dinner for yourselves and meat dinner for guests? Or vegan dinner for everyone and hope they like it?

Same question for when you're invited to someone's home for dinner. Were people freaked out at the thought of having to cook vegan dinner for you? Were they willing to cook vegan?

Lots of questions...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-01-2010, 09:15 AM
Veggie Regular

Honestly I'm one of the lucky ones since my family was very accepting of it. I turned vegetarian when I was 12-13 yrs old (I'm 31 now) and my family had no issues with it whatsoever. I also started making my own meals myself at a young age so I had no problems with that. My mom and grandmother actually found it fun when they would go grocery shopping and find new veggie stuff for me. My mom still does actually. My friends were fine with it also and never said anything negative about it.

I've never really had dinner parties but have made vegan meals for people and they've liked them.

Again I've been lucky with being invited over other's houses and them being okay with a little bit of "modifying" whatever meal it is they are serving to accommodate me. I've also brought things with me just in case.
#3 Old 02-01-2010, 09:37 AM
Veggie Regular

My family was typical...

What will you eat? How will you get protein?, etc, etc.