New rats! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-09-2005, 07:27 AM
Veggie Regular

Just want to share...yesterday I bought two baby (7-ish weeks) rats. They are the cutest things since my cat! They seem to be bonding with me already, and my sister really loves them even though she didn't like the idea of rats at first. I have photos!

The black one is called Petra, the brown/agouti one is called Rosalind, aka Rosie (Rosalind is a bit of a mouthful). They are named after characters from 'The Chrysalids' by John Wyndam.
LL
LL
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-09-2005, 07:30 AM
Veggie Regular

awwww Congrats on your new babies. How's the cat taking it? Is this your first time having rats?
#3 Old 08-09-2005, 07:55 AM
Veggie Regular

Cuteness! I <3 rat childrens!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 08-09-2005, 08:06 AM
Veggie Regular

It is my first time having rats, yes. The cat isn't allowed in the room with them, really. I had her in for a few minutes, supervised. They ignored her and she can't reach them, but I'm a bit worried if I don't supervise she might knock the cage off it's shelf.
#5 Old 08-09-2005, 08:20 AM
Veggie Regular

http://www.rmca.org/Resources/rmcafaq.htm has some good information on first time rat keeping, as well as a list of good vets by state, etc. Congrats on your first ratties, I've still got one of my first two, and I'm totally in love.
#6 Old 08-09-2005, 08:27 AM
Veggie Regular

I have a great book on keeping rats, and lots of advice and contact with the breeder (*cringes* I know a lot of people on this board don't approve of buying from breeders), but thanks very much belovedtree. It seems very easy to love rats
#7 Old 08-09-2005, 08:53 AM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by isowish View Post