Doggie Teeth - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-05-2005, 08:57 PM
Beginner

I have to admit, I'm not very good at dental care for my dog. I give her some of those dental treets every now and then and thought that was good enough (bad me, bad me) anyways, she always had really good teeth so I never really worried about it until I was checkin' her out today and realized it looked like she has cavities... er somethin'. Are these cavities? I can't afford to take her to the vet right now, so I'll probably just start brushing her teeth daily or something. Just wanted to get some opinions :/
LL
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-05-2005, 09:07 PM
Veggie Regular

Dogs rarely get cavities like humans do. Tartar and gum disease are the two biggest problems they get.

It looks like she's worn her enamel away. The yellow spots are dentine showing. Does she chew on rocks or hard surfaces a lot?

Her teeth actually look fairly clean. Can you get a shot of her molars? That's usually where the tartar builds up the most.
#3 Old 08-05-2005, 09:33 PM
Veggie Regular

How old is she?

Keep on freepin' on

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 08-05-2005, 09:53 PM
Veggie Regular

looks like a rock chewer to me!

could you start investing in pet insurance now so when she needs a dental (or other medical care) it won't be such a big deal?

http://megatarian.blogspot.com
#5 Old 08-05-2005, 10:55 PM
Beginner

Hmm I've never seen her chew on rocks. She only eats dry food, could that be it? She's not really big on chew toys except her one "baby" squeaky toy. She's five years old. Pet insurance sounds like a good idea. How do I get that?

Should I be worried?? Cause I am. heh
#6 Old 08-05-2005, 11:16 PM
Veggie Regular

I don't think they are cavities.

For the most part, you don't have to worry a lot about dog's teeth. Her teeth look really clean.