Small dog for a student apartment - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 03-26-2005, 08:46 AM
Veggie Regular

So... I'm going to be moving out soon and getting an apartment, and I would really like to adopt a small dog to keep me company. The apartment complex I'm looking in to does allow animals (with a pet deposit). Does anyone have any ideas for breeds I should look into, or advice on whether this is a good move or not?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-26-2005, 08:55 AM
Veggie Regular

I don't think that it's a good idea to have a dog in an apartment: both from the standpoint of the dog and of your neighbours because the dog would not have a lot of room to roam around and the dog's barking (and in my experience, small dogs seem to bark a lot) would disrupt all of your neighbours.

Also, if you are a student, please make sure that you have the time to devote to a dog (because as a student, I know that I would never have enough time to take care of a dog).
#3 Old 03-26-2005, 09:02 AM

Minature Pinschers rock.

http://www.dogbreedinfo.com/miniaturepinscher.htm

My cousin keeps this breed. They're so lovable and full of energy.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 03-26-2005, 09:04 AM

Quote:
The Miniature Pinscher's sleek black, blue, chocolate or red coat sheds minimally and requires little grooming. "Min Pins" are ideal for flat dwellers and may obtain sufficient exercise in a very small space. They have a low tolerance to cold therefor it is necessary to provide warm housing for this breed.

http://www.petnet.com.au/dogs/D198.html
#5 Old 03-26-2005, 11:40 AM

ME..are you (or anyone else) going to be in the apartment much? If not, you may consider a cat instead. Dogs are "people animals".

The ones I pity are the ones who never stick out their neck for something they believe, never know the taste of moral struggle, and never have the thrill of victory. - Jonathan Kozol
#6 Old 03-26-2005, 12:15 PM
Veggie Regular