The cats are fighting [maybe just playing?] - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 03-12-2010, 03:29 AM
Veggie Regular

I have a shelter cat that lives with me for the past 10 years and recently (3 months ago) I took in a cat that was feral who is about 5 years old. The x-feral is extremely laid back and keeps to himself most of the time. I should add that the other cat is also very easy going.

Lately, I noticed the two cats are playing, but it's been getting kind of rough. The x-feral is a huge cat who, although very laid back and even tempered, definitely knows how to handle himself. So needless to say, he is getting the upper hand over the other smaller cat and it always ends up with the smaller cat sort of making a noise and running off. On two occasions that I've seen it ended with the smaller cat hissing at the larger cat at the end.

So, I'm new to owning two cats who engage like this and I'm just wondering if I should be concerned or is this just normal and they're just sorting out who will "rule the roost" sort of thing. If it is a point of concern, what would be the best way(s) to handle it? I just want to add that in between this incidents they seem to get along fine. O.K. well I guess that's it.

Vegetarian since February 12, 2007
Vegan since October 7, 2008

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-12-2010, 03:33 AM
Banned

Sounds like a domination exercise. One of the cats is determined to get the other to 'submit' to the dominance of the other. The other cat either will do it or not and it could be a long term conflict. One cat I knew years ago simply would not submit to a big tom cat that was dominating her and she finally got fed up and left the area.

Certainly something to keep an eye on but there's not a lot you can do. Cats are territorial.
#3 Old 03-12-2010, 04:52 AM
mlp
Banned