Question about product animal testing - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 05-14-2008, 02:14 PM

Hi I've introduced myself before but I'm new to vegetarianism and I have another question.

I know that pretty much all chemicals, minerals, etc. have been tested on animals in the past by some organization or other. The current laws of the US state that you can't call anything non-toxic unless it's been tested on animals and proven safe. Are none of the vegan cosmetics/household products non-toxic? Or is it just that they havent tested the finished product on animals and use chemicals/minerals/etc that have not been tested directly by them but others have tested in the past?

Thanks for any insight anyone may have on this issue.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 05-14-2008, 05:12 PM
Veggie Regular

I've often wondered this myself. I have this perception that the only reason that "animal-friendly" companies are able to manufacture "cruelty-free" products is that they're using ingredients that are now approved for use after a registration process that required "animal-hating" companies to cruelly test them on animals. Therefore, it has always seemed to me to be hypocritical (like people drinking standard commercial milk and claiming that they're not responsible for animal death and cruelty). That they have been happy to let other companies get the blood on their hands and profit from the results while playing the "holier-than-thou" card.

But if I'm wrong, I'd like to know! I admit I haven't looked into it.
#3 Old 05-14-2008, 07:57 PM