Better Than Boullion No Chicken Base - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-19-2010, 09:45 PM
Riot Nrrrd

I made some grits using this tonight, and was very pleased with the result. MUCH tastier than cubes. I'm not good at making stock (many of the veggies I use are too strongly flavored to make good stock).

I could see using 3/4 tsp/cup water instead of 1 tsp. The flavor is pretty prominent.

Can't wait to try it in seitan!

Link: http://www.superiortouch.com/retail/...getarian-bases

Dave in MPLS / DISCLAIMER: I am not an actual rooster.
"It is better to light a candle than to curse the darkness"
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 18002738255
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-20-2010, 06:59 PM

I really like these too and have been using them for awhile now and my fiancee made me chicken seitan soup with it when I was sick about a month ago....it was yummers in the tummers....I also like the BTB No Beef Base and The BTB Veggie Base.....so many different things you can make with them.

peace
#3 Old 08-20-2010, 08:57 PM
Super Moderator

This is my absolute favorite Bouillon. I always have this one, the vegetable, and No beef on hand at all times. They seem more expensive, but they're much cheaper than canned broth and probably most cubes.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 08-20-2010, 09:44 PM

totally agree with you and some of my local stores carry at least the veggie one and when its on sale I stock up....the others from the website and its a great deal

peace
#5 Old 08-20-2010, 09:44 PM
Veggie Regular

Oh yeah, I use this in a lot of things, especially the chicken flavor. I also use it in my Thanksgiving dressing and gravy.
#6 Old 08-20-2010, 09:50 PM
Riot Nrrrd

The price per serving is comparable to cubes at the general grocery I shop at, but the product itself is so much better it feels like a bargain ...

Dave in MPLS / DISCLAIMER: I am not an actual rooster.
"It is better to light a candle than to curse the darkness"