TUMS does not contain animal by-products, with the exception of our E-X Sugar Free tablets, which have calcium stearate. Calcium stearate is used as a conditioning agent in certain food and pharmaceutical products and is derived from a bovine (cow) source.
Can TUMS be taken by people who cannot tolerate dairy products?
Yes, with a few exceptions.* The flavoring in TUMS Smoothies Cocoa & Creme and Smoothies Assorted Fruit tablets contains dairy.
*If someone’s milk allergies are very serious or life-threatening: Any flavor can be put on any packaging line, and the bins that hold the tablets are used interchangeably. Although we have cleaning procedures in place, we cannot guarantee that some small trace of the Smoothies Cocoa & Creme or Smoothies Assorted Fruit flavors would not be present in the other flavors.