Tofu Help Please! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 12-17-2007, 11:29 AM

Hey ya'll,

I'm new to vegetarian cooking and I'm intimidated to go to the store and purchase tofu. I have a recipe (thanks to all those who recommended the Moosewood Restaurant collection!) that calls for cake firm tofu. Will it actually say this on the package? Are there other names for it? Are some brands better than others? Any general tips?

Thanks so much,

Sandra
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-17-2007, 11:39 AM

Extra firm is what you are looking for. Different companies use different words.

I use Nasoya because it is so common here in FL.

Also, it is organic.

I have not noticed any big difference between brands here.

Kevin
#3 Old 12-17-2007, 11:45 AM
Banned

Tofu can be found in soft, medium , firm , and in some cases ,extra firm .

Yes , it is clearly marked on the packaging .
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 12-17-2007, 12:05 PM
Veggie Regular

You want the kind of tofu they sell in the refrigerated section thats packed in water. Nasoya and Soyboy are both good brands. DO NOT buy Mori-nu aseptic pack tofu (even if someone stuck it in the fridge), because they are SILKEN tofus, and though they have an extra firm silken, it's an entirely different thing. (Mori-nu is good for things like dips, desserts, and smoothies, but don't hold up to stir fries etc..)