Help please! (meat substitutes) - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 08-27-2006, 11:36 PM
Beginner

Hey im new to the whole veg thing and i need some help. Does anyone know any quick and easy subs for meat that i can make to have with the rest of the dinner my mum cooks? If you could let me know, that would be v. appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-28-2006, 02:44 AM
Veggie Regular

Morningstar Farms and Boca make some decent meat substitutes, like griller, veggie burgers, chickenless patties/nuggets, etc.

Also there is TVP (textured vegetable protein) that works like ground beef. And seiten.
#3 Old 08-28-2006, 04:09 AM
Beginner

Also tofurkey is a good brand for sausages and deli/dinner meat(their thick cut turkey is great for a turkey slice meal with some gravy and cranberry sauce).

Mostly i encourage you to go and try each brand that apeals to you most(usually the bigger and better brands are all together). Because one brand i might love you might hate so its good to find stuff that works for you(especially since in the veg world imo one brand could taste like garbage and another taste sinfully good lol).
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 08-28-2006, 04:19 AM
Heart Beet

if you are a bit handy in the kitchen it would be cheaper to make a big batch of seitan "steaks" and freeze them for later use. if you want a great recipe PM me. *^.^*

also there are about a million meat subs in the fresh section (near the veggies and fresh dressings for me) and in the freezer section, or canned sometimes too.

Look for Boca (usually but not always a red box), Morningstar Farms (usually but not always a green box) or Quorn (always a yellow box) brands in the freezer. Look for Linda Loma or Worthington in cans. Look for Yves, SmartLife (ie Smart Dogs, Smart Ground, etc) and a few others in the refrigerator section.