Bubble tea-is it veg*n? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 07-10-2006, 10:48 AM
Veggie Regular
 
nkace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 813
So I was having this discussion about how you can get bubble tea w/out dairy. Then they told me the tapioca balls are made w/ gelatin!!!! Gross.

I really like bubble tea. Is there a standard or how do I find out-asking people who serve have no idea.
nkace is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 07-10-2006, 11:01 AM
Veggie Regular
 
cookingVeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,202
From what I understand, some flavours of bubble tea contain dairy in the powdered mix, so just substituting soy milk doesn't work.



Tapioca balls are made from tapioca, a tuber. You can also get jellies in bubble tea here -- they tend to be made with agar, but of course you can ask to see the label.
cookingVeg is offline  
#3 Old 07-10-2006, 11:48 AM
Veggie Regular
 
karenM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
↑↑ What cookingVeg said.



How to have your tea without dairy?

1. Find a boba shop that sells different flavors.

2. Order one of the fruit flavors (my favorite is passionfruit-black tea.



Or, cook your own tapioca pearls at home. You can find them at a lot of Asian markets or online, dry or partially cooked, packed in vacuum-sealed bags. Here's one source: http://www.bobateadirect.com/Boba-Ta...earls-c-1.html
karenM is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 07-10-2006, 11:50 AM
Veggie Regular
 
nkace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 813
I don't want just plain or fruity tea-the tapioca balls are the best part. This is what the issue is.



Quote:
Originally Posted by karenM View Post

↑↑ What cookingVeg said.



How to have your tea without dairy?

1. Find a boba shop that sells different flavors.

2. Order one of the fruit flavors (my favorite is passionfruit-black tea.



Or, cook your own tapioca pearls at home. You can find them at a lot of Asian markets or online, dry or partially cooked, packed in vacuum-sealed bags. Here's one source: http://www.bobateadirect.com/Boba-Ta...earls-c-1.html

nkace is offline  
#5 Old 07-10-2006, 12:28 PM
Veggie Regular
 
karenM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
You're allowed to order a non-milk flavored drink/tea WITH tapioca balls.
karenM is offline  
#6 Old 07-10-2006, 12:51 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Tempeh-Tantrums's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 676
My kids love the stuff, so I checked at the Boba Tea place we go to, and the mix they use is dairy-free and the tapioca is just that - tapioca - no geletin or anything.



I'm sure it could vary from place to place however, so it wouldn't hurt to read labels/ask questions. Always a good policy anyways.
Tempeh-Tantrums is offline  
#7 Old 07-10-2006, 01:04 PM
Veggie Regular
 
froggythefrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 9,260
"Boba Tea Company" soaks the tapioca balls in honey. Otherwise, they are vegetarian.
froggythefrog is offline  
#8 Old 07-10-2006, 01:24 PM
Newbie
 
Umasmommy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
IS there any brand name yogurt fruit flavored that does not contain gelatin ?Thanks sorry new and can't figure out the posting yet
Umasmommy is offline  
#9 Old 07-10-2006, 01:25 PM
Veggie Regular
 
nkace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 813
So tapioca in general is veg*n?
nkace is offline  
#10 Old 07-10-2006, 01:26 PM
Veggie Regular
 
rabid_child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,282
Tapioca is Tapioca. The ingredient is Tapioca. You can make other things out of Tapioca, like tapioca flour, but you can't make other things into real tapioca... Does that make sense? That's like asking "Hey, what's that carrot made of?" It's made of carrot, as it is a carrot (chemicals composition and such aside). Tapioca is made of tapioca, which is not gelatin... it's tapioca.

http://megatarian.blogspot.com
rabid_child is offline  
#11 Old 07-10-2006, 06:03 PM
Banned
 
remilard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Umasmommy View Post

IS there any brand name yogurt fruit flavored that does not contain gelatin ?Thanks sorry new and can't figure out the posting yet



Nancys
remilard is offline  
#12 Old 07-29-2009, 05:41 PM
Newbie
 
Happy Feet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Meaning it does not have Animal skins or bones in it.
Happy Feet is offline  
#13 Old 07-29-2009, 05:52 PM
Veggie Regular
 
nontoxicglue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 498
Tapioca is veg*n. No gelatin. Trust me, I come from the land where bubble tea was invented.



Depending on whether or not the companies soak it in honey is a different story.

The Vegan ABC's: East Meets West, VEGAN STYLE! A blog detailing the edibles in the life of an ABC (American-born Chinese) vegan.
http://theveganabc.blogspot.com/
nontoxicglue is offline  
#14 Old 07-30-2009, 04:56 AM
Veggie Regular
 
fadeaway1289's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10,324
Ok I'm totally confused by bubble tea. I've never tried it before. Is it a hot tea with little balls in it? Cause that sounds pretty nasty. Or is it more like a shake/smoothie type drink?
fadeaway1289 is offline  
#15 Old 07-30-2009, 06:10 AM
Veggie Regular
 
rabid_child's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 12,282
It's iced tea with large tapioca pearls in it.

http://megatarian.blogspot.com
rabid_child is offline  
#16 Old 07-30-2009, 03:34 PM
Veggie Regular
 
fadeaway1289's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10,324
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabid_child View Post

It's iced tea with large tapioca pearls in it.



Thanks for the info. Sounds interesting. I might have to try it if I ever see it anywhere.
fadeaway1289 is offline  
#17 Old 07-31-2009, 01:02 PM
Newbie
 
Behemot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 44
Oh I'm glad someone brought up bubble tea. I bought some tapioca balls the other day hoping to recreate a mango soup pudding I had at a restarant ages ago. It was ok but my balls were bland



The ones that I had at the chinese were sweet, a bit chewy and generally ace. I tried boiling them in sugar water but it didn't really help. Does anybody have a good recipe/method for getting the them like that whatever they're in, tea, whatever?
Behemot is offline  
#18 Old 08-01-2009, 05:33 PM
Beginner
 
desertgirl22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 111
I'm having one now! Yummmmmm!
desertgirl22 is offline  
#19 Old 08-01-2009, 09:31 PM
Veggie Regular
 
nontoxicglue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by Behemot View Post

Oh I'm glad someone brought up bubble tea. I bought some tapioca balls the other day hoping to recreate a mango soup pudding I had at a restarant ages ago. It was ok but my balls were bland



The ones that I had at the chinese were sweet, a bit chewy and generally ace. I tried boiling them in sugar water but it didn't really help. Does anybody have a good recipe/method for getting the them like that whatever they're in, tea, whatever?



I'll look into it for you. My mom's friend owns a whole chain of bubble tea stores in the DC Metropolitan area.



And to fadeaway1289 : i like my drinks with balls . No really, you should try it. It's addictive.

The Vegan ABC's: East Meets West, VEGAN STYLE! A blog detailing the edibles in the life of an ABC (American-born Chinese) vegan.
http://theveganabc.blogspot.com/
nontoxicglue is offline  
#20 Old 08-07-2009, 09:15 PM
Newbie
 
tut078620's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Oriental Asians don't typically use gelatin in their food. All the "jelly" like desserts I eat are made from agar agar. The jelly used in the bubble tea stores seem to be agar agar texture, but since I'm not sure, I avoid it now. From what I've always understood, the tapioca balls are just tapioca. A lot of places call the jelly (something else you can get if you don't want tapioca) gelatin, but I don't know if the employees really know the difference when they label things... I've seen a lot of places label the jelly as gelatin, but if you've ever tried it, the texture is a lot like agar agar.



The only asian dessert I can think of that may use gelatin is the almond flavored jello-like dessert usually mixed with canned fruit. I think traditionally it is made with agar agar, as historically I think that's what asians used, but some brands use gelatin now.
tut078620 is offline  
#21 Old 08-07-2009, 10:59 PM
Veggie Regular
 
4EverGrounded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabid_child View Post

It's iced tea with large tapioca pearls in it.

That's IT? I feel so ripped off, now.



2 questions then:



1. Can you use any ice tea or should it be a special kind?



2. Should the tapioca pearls be cooked in any way before adding to the tea?
4EverGrounded is offline  
#22 Old 08-08-2009, 12:09 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Tofu-N-Sprouts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 11,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabid_child View Post

It's iced tea with large tapioca pearls in it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4EverGrounded View Post

That's IT? I feel so ripped off, now.



2 questions then:



1. Can you use any ice tea or should it be a special kind?



2. Should the tapioca pearls be cooked in any way before adding to the tea?



Interesting, I wouldn't compare it to Iced Tea at all? I'm sure the drink varies depending on where you get it? The only Bubble Tea I've had (around here and in Albuquerque) was thicker, creamier and more fruity than "iced tea".



Almost like the texture and consistancy of Chocolate milk but instead of chocolate think peach flavored or "tea flavored" or virtually ANYTHING flavored... with ice cubes AND the very large tapioca pearls the size of a blueberry (the ones I've had were purple too, not translucent white).



The milky base can be soy or dairy milk. Most often they'll tell you the base is "non-dairy" which basically means it's the same as "non-dairy"-coffee-creamer-type stuff... there usually ARE a few miniscule milk derived trace ingredients if they'll let you read the package. But sometimes not too!! Never hurts to check!!



4EG, there's a place in Tacoma, we should go!! (It's right next to that new Asian Market on South Tacoma Way).
Tofu-N-Sprouts is offline  
#23 Old 08-09-2009, 05:09 PM
Veggie Regular
 
4EverGrounded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tofu-N-Sprouts View Post

4EG, there's a place in Tacoma, we should go!! (It's right next to that new Asian Market on South Tacoma Way).



OOOH! Sounds GOOD - and I've been wanting to go to that new Asian market ever since it opened.
4EverGrounded is offline  
#24 Old 08-09-2009, 08:50 PM
Veggie Regular
 
nontoxicglue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4EverGrounded View Post

That's IT? I feel so ripped off, now.



2 questions then:



1. Can you use any ice tea or should it be a special kind?





....It's really just red tea or green tea with ice and sugar and milk and tapioca pearls...

The Vegan ABC's: East Meets West, VEGAN STYLE! A blog detailing the edibles in the life of an ABC (American-born Chinese) vegan.
http://theveganabc.blogspot.com/
nontoxicglue is offline  
#25 Old 08-09-2009, 10:59 PM
Veggie Regular
 
4EverGrounded's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 5,644
Do you have to cook the pearls at all and if so, how?



Sorry if that sounds stupid, but I've never used tapioca pearls in my life so I'm really unsure how to handle them...
4EverGrounded is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off