Wierd question... ["Corona" Beer Vegan?] - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 10-18-2005, 05:15 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Aussyj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 516
Does anyone know if the beer " Carona " is vegan. We have a recipe that calls for beer, but we don't want ot make a mistake here! Anyone know about Carona? I think we may have some Miller, but I doubt it.
Aussyj is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-20-2005, 12:30 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Morna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 435
Not sure. I've toured the Budwiser Brewery here, and I know that all that goes into that kind of bear is grain and hopps (both plants). I'd look up the company's website and find info about thier brewing process (most beer companies are more than happy to tell you about that...it's one of the things they work the hardest to get right and they want you to know why they think they're the best).
Morna is offline  
#3 Old 10-20-2005, 02:06 AM
Beginner
 
Adagio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 192
As far as I know, the only thing that might cause a beer to lose vegan certification would be if their water is filtered with bone-char... But I'm not an expert on the subject by any means, as I don't drink. I imagine that you'd be safe.
Adagio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 10-20-2005, 07:29 AM
Veggie Regular
 
down_to_earth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 466
I've half-joked about this with friends and family, that if beer (specifically, Labast, Molson, Killians, Warsteiner, Heinekin, and Guiness, none light), wasn't vegetarian, I'd be in trouble. Okay. We're not alcoholics, we just like to crack open the occasional six pack.



Hhhmmm... Maybe I should look into it.
down_to_earth is offline  
#5 Old 10-20-2005, 09:13 AM
Veggie Regular
 
mazikeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2,977
Some beers cannot be classed as veg*n, because of the animal-derived filters used in their production to clarify them. In the UK, common filters for beers include gelatin, isinglass (fish bladder), casein, egg albumin, and even blood powder! (why???)

I know that Guinness uses isinglass, so that's out of the question for me, unfortunately



I don't know about Corona, it doesn't seem to be listed anywhere, which could mean anything. There is another thread on VB about vegan beers (I cannot post the URL, sorry!), if you search for 'vegan beers', you'll find it - I think it has a few links to lists from the vegan society.



Good luck!
mazikeen is offline  
#6 Old 10-28-2005, 09:10 PM
Banned
 
VeganForHealth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 755
Beer is a grain beverage. All of the ingredients are Vegan.



If you have time, brew your own. It's a lot of fun, and much more flavorful.
VeganForHealth is offline  
#7 Old 10-28-2005, 10:11 PM
Veggie Regular
 
bjorn again veg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by VeganForHealth View Post

Beer is a grain beverage. All of the ingredients are Vegan.



If you have time, brew your own. It's a lot of fun, and much more flavorful.





Not necessarily true that beer is vegan Mazikeen is correct that some use isinglass & other products to 'finish' & clear the beer. These can leave traces.



Brew your own then that way you can be sure of ingredients.



I cannot access this site (at work & it is banned) American ′Vegan Beer Directory′ (which covers Wine and spirits as well as beer) at http://www.veganporn.com/booze.pl





Also this is a good one but mainly Aussie http://www.vnv.org.au/AlcoholByName.htm



happy drinking guys



PS Coopers beers from Australia are all vegan & taste great!

No Australian sugar is bone char filtered so totally vegan!
bjorn again veg is offline  
#8 Old 12-02-2005, 08:07 AM
Newbie
 
materialgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 16
yer i found it had finding which beers are veg*n however once you know which bars serve what it gets easier



here is a list of beer/larger not veg*n



carlin

stella

guinness

fosters

kronenberg



im not sure about coroana



ones that are veg*n for the u.k



calsberg

bud and bud ice

grolsh

rollin rock

becks

hope that helps



by the way any one know if newcasle brown ale is vege?
materialgirl is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off