Below is a blurb from veganessentials.com
We are sad to report that Vegan Supreme Marshmallows are no longer in production due to the current issue with Emes Kosher Jel that has been discovered to not actually be vegan despite claims of being animal-free. Recent tests conducted by Vegan Supreme and Vegans In Paradise (www.vegparadise.com
) have shown that Emes Jel does contain a substantial amount of animal based gelatin, despite Emes' claims that there were only vegetable-based ingredients in the finished product and that it has always been completely vegan suitable. We, like many others, are furious that a company has deceived the vegan, vegetarian and kosher communities for so long and gladly sold products that were far from being accurately labeled, and we are hoping that proper actions will be taken against them for this deception. Vegan Supreme was completely unaware of the gelatin content in the Emes Kosher Jel, which was a main ingredient in their marshmallows, and they had the analysis completed once they heard talk that Emes may not be truthful in their product ingredient listings. They, like us and many other retailers, were duped into believing that the Emes products were vegan when instead they were not. We urge the vegan community to contact Emes and voice your complaints to them for misrepresenting their products to vegans and vegetarians everywhere regarding their ingredients - their contact information is as follows (phone number coming soon)
Mr. Ted Loomos, Vice President
Emes Kosher Products
P.O. Box 27
St. Charles, Il 60174
As of this time, we are working to provide an new brand of marshmallows very similar to the Vegan Supreme brand that we had been carrying, and if we are able to obtain these we will make it known once we have them on the way. This may be some months away, so please be patient, but we will definitely keep everyone updated on this as new developments occur.