cannelloni challenge - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-30-2003, 12:02 AM
Banned

so my dad has this friend who's in transition to vegan now, and somehow she thinks i'm a great cook because she loves everything i make. now she asked me to try and veganize some cannelloni that she had once, that's ricotta, nuts (probably walnuts), and raisins.

the challenge is: how to make it light, not massively rich? i always use tofu to replace ricotta, which works out really well, but i've never made cannelloni that's just tofu - it's always 1/2 fresh veggies, so you can eat a few and not feel like you're never going to eat anything again. this thing is going to be like a slab of tofu wrapped in pasta, and i'm a bit reluctant to try it out.

the only thing i could think of so far is to crumble the tofu more lightly, so it's in bigger chunks and doesn't stay as dense inside the tubes. other than that, i just don't know what to do. is it going to work?

some ideas, anybody?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-30-2003, 01:14 AM
Veggie Regular

Here's how I make Cannelloni now. Maybe there's something in it that can help you:

Vegan Cannelloni

(Serves 4-6)

INGREDIENTS

1 onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, crushed

2 carrots, coarsely grated

2 celery stalks, finely chopped

2/3 cup vegetable stock

1/2 cut red or green lentils (red looks nicer)

1 14 oz. can chopped tomatoes

2 tbsp tomato paste

1 tsp fresh thyme

1 tsp chopped fresh rosemary

3 tbsp vegan margarine

1/3 cup wheat or barley flour

2 1/2 cups soymilk

large pinch of grated nutmeg

16-18 cannelloni tubes

1/3 cup Soymage Vegan Parmesan

1/2 cup fresh bread crumbs

salt and fresh ground black pepper

garnish, as desired (flat-leaf parsley is typical for guests)

1. To make the filling, put the onion, garlic, carrots and celery into a large saucepan, add half the stock, cover and cook for 5 minutes or until tender.