Is pasta vegan? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 08-28-2004, 02:46 PM
Newbie
 
Tedmiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3




I've been hearing mixed reports. Some people say, "No, it's not; it's made with eggs." And I've been trying to look for a straight answer on the Internet. All signs point to "yes" it's vegan, but I just wanna be sure.



So, is it? Are specific types, e.g., whole wheat, vegan?



Thanks!
Tedmiester is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 08-28-2004, 02:47 PM
Veggie Regular
 
ynaffit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,058
sometimes it has egg, sometimes it doesn't. so, some pasta is vegan. you have to read or ask about the ingredients.
ynaffit is offline  
#3 Old 08-28-2004, 02:48 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Just check the ingredient lisitings on the pasta that you are considering. Most pasta is vegan. Some pasta has eggs in it. If you ask an omni, for some strange reason they always think pasta has eggs in it. They also tend to think all bread has eggs, too. Both rarely have any eggs in them.
GhostUser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 08-28-2004, 02:51 PM
Newbie
 
Tedmiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
So, if it has eggs in it, the ingredients label will always list egg as one of the ingredients?

Tedmiester is offline  
#5 Old 08-28-2004, 02:52 PM
Veggie Regular
 
ynaffit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,058
i've never seen vegan fresh pasta, though.
ynaffit is offline  
#6 Old 08-28-2004, 02:53 PM
Veggie Regular
 
ynaffit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedmiester View Post

So, if it has eggs in it, the ingredients label will always list egg as one of the ingredients?


yes, or "egg whites" if only the whites are used, as i think is usually the case.
ynaffit is offline  
#7 Old 08-28-2004, 02:55 PM
Veggie Regular
 
colorful's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,164
Tedmeister,



Pretty much all dry, Italian-style pasta will be vegan. The only pasta I've ever seen with egg in it are the stroganoff-style egg noodles (and they are usually labeled "egg noodles"!) and the fresh pastas in the refrigerator section. Like everything else, just read the labels



p.s. I usually buy whole wheat pasta and it has always been vegan
colorful is offline  
#8 Old 08-28-2004, 02:56 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tedmiester View Post

So, if it has eggs in it, the ingredients label will always list egg as one of the ingredients?




As far as I know, yes. I believe it is illegal to omit any ingredients that a product contains. Especially a product like eggs, which some folks are allergic to.
GhostUser is offline  
#9 Old 08-28-2004, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
Tedmiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
You don't know how much you've all just made me happy. I love you all!
Tedmiester is offline  
#10 Old 08-28-2004, 03:24 PM
Kiz
Veggie Regular
 
Kiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by ynaffit View Post

i've never seen vegan fresh pasta, though.





Really? That's not good at all!

Love the post? Why not buy the T-shirt!
http://www.kiz-shop.de/index.php?page=categorie&cat=8
http://www.kiz-shop.de/index.php?page=product&info=94
Kiz is offline  
#11 Old 08-28-2004, 03:33 PM
Baby Love
 
Jinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,813
I usually go for the whole wheat variety. Hodgson Mills has all sorts of WW noodles and I can find them at my regular gorcery store in the pasta isle. Every type, I have purchased was vegan. Ingredients : 100% Durum Whole Wheat Flour ... thats the entire list



Just steer clear of the obvious Egg Noodles
Jinga is offline  
#12 Old 08-28-2004, 04:16 PM
Newbie
 
GhostUser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 0
Ironically, some of the cheap brands of egg noodles don't have egg in them.
GhostUser is offline  
#13 Old 08-28-2004, 05:55 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Walter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 7,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by FalafelsRule View Post

As far as I know, yes. I believe it is illegal to omit any ingredients that a product contains. Especially a product like eggs, which some folks are allergic to.

I think you're probably right for the most part when it comes to prepackaged products. In regards to fresh products, like bagels from a bakery, I stay away from the shiny ones. Sometimes bakers will paint the tops of the bagels with egg before they bake them to make them come out shiny and they don't list the egg in the ingredients.
Walter is offline  
#14 Old 08-28-2004, 07:15 PM
Banned
 
remilard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,772
Generally speaking fresh pasta has eggs, dried pasta does not. Dried pasta with egg in it is not italian in origin. Sometimes fresh pasta is made with mineral water or wine, this makes a more delicate pasta. You aren't going to see this often though. I have seen a few brands of storebought vegan fresh pasta in the last couple of years. You can certainly make your own fresh pasta at home without eggs, Bryanna Clark Grogan's "Nonna's Italian Kitchen" (which you should all own at least three copies of) has a good recipe. Look for dried pasta which has been extracted through bronze dies, this has nothing to do with veganacity but rather quality. They will have a noticeably textured surface which allows more sauce to be absorbed.
remilard is offline  
#15 Old 08-29-2004, 12:59 PM
Veggie Regular
 
cookingVeg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiz View Post

Really? That's not good at all!



You can make fresh pasta without eggs (if you're feeling ambitious), you just can't seem to buy it.
cookingVeg is offline  
#16 Old 08-29-2004, 01:53 PM
Kiz
Veggie Regular
 
Kiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12,132
I keep meaning to have a go but I haven't got round to it yet. I want to learn how to make hand-stretched rice noodles. Mmmm... so yummy.

Love the post? Why not buy the T-shirt!
http://www.kiz-shop.de/index.php?page=categorie&cat=8
http://www.kiz-shop.de/index.php?page=product&info=94
Kiz is offline  
#17 Old 08-30-2004, 12:43 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Ntelligentidiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,310
Most types of dry pasta are vegan. Some types that don't are ravioli, fettucine, and most things that come in a refrigerated, not-dry form.
Ntelligentidiot is offline  
#18 Old 11-14-2009, 06:38 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Begonia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 467
I have in the past sometimes seen in health food stores fresh pasta made with tofu and not with eggs. Don't know if it can still been found.
Begonia is offline  
#19 Old 11-14-2009, 07:12 PM
Veggie Regular
 
holnrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 467
Lasagne sheets are the ones to look out for.
holnrew is offline  
#20 Old 11-14-2009, 07:30 PM
Baby Love
 
Jinga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 5,813
I saw this thread and was trying to remember the brand I buy without going to the kitchen to look. Turns out I replied 5 years ago ... I don't know if they carry Hodgson Mills outside the U.S. but they do carry the lasagna noodles which have the exact same ingredients as the other whole wheat noodles (100% Durum Whole Wheat Flour).



Boy I sure was helpful way back then. I'm glad a post where I wasn't being a weirdo was bumped.
Jinga is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off