Gluten free vegan - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 2Likes
  • 2 Post By veggiestez

#1 Old 02-28-2015, 08:18 AM

Gluten free vegan

Is anyone else a gluten free vegan? I've discovered I do a lot better without gluten so I'm trying to avoid it. I'm trying not to over-rely on alternatives such as gluten free pasta as I'm not good with processed stuff in general. My diet is very healthy and non processed but I'd love some more ideas. If anyone else is following this diet I'd appreciate any tips or general support.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-28-2015, 01:33 PM
Impeach the gangster

I've been vegan approx. 20-years, and was obliged to go gluten-free about a year ago, when I realized gluten was playing havoc with my digestion. In the case of celiac disease, gluten impedes the ability of the small intestine to absorb nutrients, so you can end up eating and eating and eating, but don't get much nourishment, and can wind up constipated or with diarrhea. It can be very frustrating and debilitating. I haven't been tested for celiac, but I found that removing gluten from my diet cleared up all my problems. I had been eating a lot of wheat bread and freely used the mock meats too, which mainly rely on wheat gluten for their texture. Giving up gluten has been a blessing in disguise, because now I'm eating far more better foods, especially veggies and fruits. I've also upped my intake of rice, potatoes and corn to give me that "full" feeling. (I'm not a dietician by a long shot.)

I know you're not interested in processed foods, but I'll throw these out there, just in case-

I've tried many of the gluten-free breads, but found most of them unacceptable for being too bland and unbread-like; however, the Schlar company makes a line of bread and rolls that is pretty good. I use them in moderation, sort of like a treat for myself once in a while. (I love bread!)