Vegan Three Milk Cake (Tres Leches)? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-28-2004, 02:55 PM
Veggie Regular

Has anyone been able to make a vegan three milk cake? I think it's called "Pastel de tres leches." (?) I've never tried making this cake before, so I'm really lost. All of the recipes I've come across call for a large number of eggs as the base of the cake.

The dairy isn't a problem, thanks to homemade substitutes, but I'm really stuck on the cake portion. I don't know if a vegan version will work, since the cake has to absorb the liquids. Is the cake a dense cake, or is it more like a sponge cake? I'd like to take it to a party in a couple days. Here are two dairy egg versions I found through Google. Ideas, suggestions? ::Help::

http://www.texascooking.com/features...cakerecipe.htm

http://dominicancooking.com/recipes/...tresleches.htm

I would've asked Bryanna Clark Grogan on her message board as well, but couldn't get my message to go through.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 05-02-2004, 12:40 AM
Veggie Regular

Well, judging by the lack of replies, I guess you're just as clueless as I am! I decided to either do a vegan white poke cake, or try this vegan tres leches cake from Chef Deborah. Haven't decided on which version, either, but I still have 4 days. Posted for anyone else who might be interested.
#3 Old 05-02-2004, 01:04 PM
Veggie Regular

I believe Tres Leches is a dense cake.... I've never had it directly, but I think one of the milks is flan, a nice thick custard. (Mmmmm....) I think you could use silken tofu. Who are you making this cake for? It'd be good to have someone who has tasted this cake before and is picky about food help you out. Lots of vanilla also seems to pop into my head. Good luck.

This is an awefully challenging item to make vegan in my opinion, as one of the main points of this cake is to enjoy the variety of textures of the milk items in one dish.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 05-02-2004, 02:02 PM