Food safety! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-19-2013, 02:23 PM

Hi guys blush.gif
So I'm back to school! Sort of. Well, I'm doing a Masters. The last tertiary education I did was an honours degree in my own time ( thesis work ) and this next 18 months I have a fixed 9-5 schedule away from home again. Great! Loving it! But struggling with lunches because unlike work etc. there's no fridge and I'm not totally clear on what's okay and not okay to leave out of it.
I'm vegan ( barring honey and occasional eggs in baked goods but they don't sit well with me on own. Sad, because I like eggs and have no problem with them really. Yes, I know, 'that's not vegan' but you follow my drift.. ) so there's no dairy involved and no meat ( obviously ) .... thus I've been told ' as long as it isn't rice' it can be out all day. This seems a bit sketchy to me. Fake bacon in sandwiches? Vegan cheese? I don't know. Someone please enlighten me because it's the middle of winter and plain salad sandwiches aren't really doin' a sufficient job....

xx

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-19-2013, 03:27 PM
Give peas a chance

Have you thought about an insulated lunch box/bag? I've got one with a changeable cold pack. As long as the box stays closed, the food stays cold. Mine is good for at least 8 hours. I haven't tried it beyond that, but I'm sure it lasts even longer.

Vegan Cookbooks Illustrated

http://vegan-cookbooks-illustrated.blogspot.com/

http://pinterest.com/VeganCookbooks/

#3 Old 06-19-2013, 09:13 PM

Oh! That's a brilliant idea!! Thankyou so much :)

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 06-20-2013, 02:51 PM

In the mean time ( whilst packing lunch for today )....is pumpkin soup okay..... for like 10 hours.... if it says 'refrigerate' but it's just pumpkins and other things.... ?

#5 Old 06-20-2013, 05:29 PM
Veggie Regular