Throat irritation after drinking warmed soy milk - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 12-17-2012, 12:53 AM

For the past week I've noticed that about half an hour after I have drunk my evening cup of cocoa made with soy milk my throat starts to get scratchy. This persists for an hour or so.

I suspect perhaps I have developed a mild allergic reaction to soy, even though I have been drinking soy milk for several months and this has never occurred until recently.

The other strange thing is that I don't seem to have the same reaction after eating oats with soy milk for breakfast, or when I have soy milk in my coffee.

Could it be something to do with warming the soy milk up for cocoa, or might it be a matter of quantity (i.e. I drink more soy milk in my cup of cocoa than I have on my oats)?

Any thoughts/insights would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-17-2012, 01:36 AM
I ♥ Vegan Guys ◕‿◕

I have a soymilk allergy. I can handle tofu just fine though, just not raw soy.

I have read that cooking/ soy sometimes burns off a protein that makes people react to it (which would explain my own tolerance to tofu.) Though that may not be the case for you, or you may be allergic to one that isn't the one that is burned off.

Also yes, quantity could be a factor. When I drank my first cup of soymilk, I had a bad stomach ache and scratchy throat. I figured I had an allergy then, so like a few days later I decided to try it again, with a larger quantity just to make sure. I had a HORRIBLE stomach ache, to the point where I thought I might have needed to go to the doctor. Eventually, I assume after my body just flushed and processed it out of my stomach, my system calmed down. So yeah, maybe try different quantities and see. Have small quantities though.

But yeah, or just not bother with it at all like me and stay away from soymilk. I drink rice, almond, or coconut milk smiley.gif You can also get tested by a doctor for allergies if you wanna know for sure.