VeggieBoards

VeggieBoards (https://www.veggieboards.com/forum/)
-   General Food Discussions (https://www.veggieboards.com/forum/21-general-food-discussions/)
-   -   Why Can't Pop-Tarts be Vegetarian!!! (https://www.veggieboards.com/forum/21-general-food-discussions/134949-why-cant-pop-tarts-vegetarian.html)

gooberbanana 04-22-2012 09:24 PM

It is so frustrating. Pop-tarts were my favorite treat as a kid. I was so disappointed to learn that they contained gelatin once I became a vegetarian. Why can't Kelloggs use another gelling agent like agar or pectin?

thcause 04-22-2012 09:41 PM

I never knew that. When you switch to veg* you find out so much stuff you cant eat.

If you or someone you live with likes to cook here are some recipes I found (not my recipes, just a random google search)

http://heydayfashionblog.blogspot.co...rts-vegan.html

http://dairyfreecooking.about.com/od...rts_Recipe.htm

http://vegansaurus.com/post/297366184/recipe-pop-tarts

Move of Ten 04-22-2012 10:25 PM

That's too bad. I don't eat pop tarts, but I thought they didn't contain animal products for some reason.

Puppet Master 04-22-2012 10:32 PM

I think the unfrosted Cinnamon and maybe Apple are veg*n, but that's it, also no fun since they don't have icing.

AlainWinthrope 04-22-2012 11:08 PM

Just get the unfrosted kind. I never liked the frosting anyways. It's like this dry plaster that has no flavor.

madisonelise 04-22-2012 11:15 PM

Pop tarts just look so bad for you haha... I loved them when I was little. Although, i was never allowed to have them. I ate them at friends places hehe

fadeaway1289 04-23-2012 05:57 AM

Certain unfrosted flavors are vegetarian. Also Amy's are vegan too and much better for you.http://www.amyskitchen.com/products/...eakfast/000184

Charity 04-23-2012 08:23 AM

I may be mistaken, but I believe Nature's Path Organic Toaster Pastries are vegetarian (although not vegan). Anyone know for sure? I'm not a toaster pastry eater, so I can't vouch for the taste.

Kari 04-23-2012 07:52 PM

The gelatin is in the frosting, not the filling. The unfrosted ones are vegan.

I Heart Corey Haim!! 04-23-2012 08:57 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charity View Post

I may be mistaken, but I believe Nature's Path Organic Toaster Pastries are vegetarian (although not vegan). Anyone know for sure? I'm not a toaster pastry eater, so I can't vouch for the taste.


yes they are veggie and I have tried the blueberry and strawberry ones and honestly I wasnt impressed at all....not enough filling and a gross taste to me anyways.

peace, love & nirvana

Identity_thief 04-24-2012 09:59 AM

I've never eaten a pop tart, but if it's the icing that has gelatine, you could always buy the plain ones and ice your own. That way you can lick the bowl too

Move of Ten 04-24-2012 11:55 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kari View Post

The gelatin is in the frosting, not the filling. The unfrosted ones are vegan.

Sounds right, that must be why I had that impression.

gooberbanana 04-24-2012 08:46 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Identity_thief View Post

I've never eaten a pop tart, but if it's the icing that has gelatine, you could always buy the plain ones and ice your own. That way you can lick the bowl too

That might be true, but it's not the same:-(

Jorjor 04-29-2012 08:30 PM

I'm pretty sure the unfrosted ones are suitable for vegetarians. The strawberry ones are ok tasting, chocolate fudge on the other hand..


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2021 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.