Why Can't Pop-Tarts be Vegetarian!!! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
#1 Old 04-22-2012, 09:24 PM
Newbie
 
gooberbanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
It is so frustrating. Pop-tarts were my favorite treat as a kid. I was so disappointed to learn that they contained gelatin once I became a vegetarian. Why can't Kelloggs use another gelling agent like agar or pectin?
gooberbanana is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 04-22-2012, 09:41 PM
Newbie
 
thcause's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 55
I never knew that. When you switch to veg* you find out so much stuff you cant eat.

If you or someone you live with likes to cook here are some recipes I found (not my recipes, just a random google search)

http://heydayfashionblog.blogspot.co...rts-vegan.html

http://dairyfreecooking.about.com/od...rts_Recipe.htm

http://vegansaurus.com/post/297366184/recipe-pop-tarts
thcause is offline  
#3 Old 04-22-2012, 10:25 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Move of Ten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,157
That's too bad. I don't eat pop tarts, but I thought they didn't contain animal products for some reason.
Move of Ten is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#4 Old 04-22-2012, 10:32 PM
Arrrg! Me mateys.
 
Puppet Master's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5,591
I think the unfrosted Cinnamon and maybe Apple are veg*n, but that's it, also no fun since they don't have icing.

korrakorrakorrakorrakorra
Puppet Master is offline  
#5 Old 04-22-2012, 11:08 PM
Veggie Regular
 
AlainWinthrope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,063
Just get the unfrosted kind. I never liked the frosting anyways. It's like this dry plaster that has no flavor.
AlainWinthrope is offline  
#6 Old 04-22-2012, 11:15 PM
Beginner
 
madisonelise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 100
Pop tarts just look so bad for you haha... I loved them when I was little. Although, i was never allowed to have them. I ate them at friends places hehe

♥ ♥ My vegan recipe blog: http://veggieful.com ♥ 

madisonelise is offline  
#7 Old 04-23-2012, 05:57 AM
Veggie Regular
 
fadeaway1289's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 10,324
Certain unfrosted flavors are vegetarian. Also Amy's are vegan too and much better for you.http://www.amyskitchen.com/products/...eakfast/000184
fadeaway1289 is offline  
#8 Old 04-23-2012, 08:23 AM
Newbie
 
Charity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 36
I may be mistaken, but I believe Nature's Path Organic Toaster Pastries are vegetarian (although not vegan). Anyone know for sure? I'm not a toaster pastry eater, so I can't vouch for the taste.

"Is a vegetarian permitted to eat animal crackers?" - George Carlin
Charity is offline  
#9 Old 04-23-2012, 07:52 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Kari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 388
The gelatin is in the frosting, not the filling. The unfrosted ones are vegan.
Kari is offline  
#10 Old 04-23-2012, 08:57 PM
Veggie Regular
 
I Heart Corey Haim!!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 4,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charity View Post

I may be mistaken, but I believe Nature's Path Organic Toaster Pastries are vegetarian (although not vegan). Anyone know for sure? I'm not a toaster pastry eater, so I can't vouch for the taste.


yes they are veggie and I have tried the blueberry and strawberry ones and honestly I wasnt impressed at all....not enough filling and a gross taste to me anyways.

peace, love & nirvana

LOud & PRoud Veggie-Tari-Jenn~~(KNOT)~~ Vegan and NEVER Will Be.
Be Cents-able...Use Coupons!!~~PEace, LOVe & Beautiful COLORFUL RAinbows!!
I Heart Corey Haim!! is offline  
#11 Old 04-24-2012, 09:59 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Identity_thief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,707
I've never eaten a pop tart, but if it's the icing that has gelatine, you could always buy the plain ones and ice your own. That way you can lick the bowl too
Identity_thief is offline  
#12 Old 04-24-2012, 11:55 AM
Veggie Regular
 
Move of Ten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kari View Post

The gelatin is in the frosting, not the filling. The unfrosted ones are vegan.

Sounds right, that must be why I had that impression.
Move of Ten is offline  
#13 Old 04-24-2012, 08:46 PM
Newbie
 
gooberbanana's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Identity_thief View Post

I've never eaten a pop tart, but if it's the icing that has gelatine, you could always buy the plain ones and ice your own. That way you can lick the bowl too

That might be true, but it's not the same:-(
gooberbanana is offline  
#14 Old 04-29-2012, 08:30 PM
Veggie Regular
 
Jorjor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Posts: 326
I'm pretty sure the unfrosted ones are suitable for vegetarians. The strawberry ones are ok tasting, chocolate fudge on the other hand..
Jorjor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VeggieBoards forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off