I need the best birthday cake please - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 04-18-2012, 06:32 AM
Veggie Regular

Long story short, I promised my ex husband a vegan birthday cake and am stressing about it. I am thinking of using my sheet cake pan and cutting it it half to make it a double layer cake. I also think a simple vanilla cake with chocolate frosting. Please any tip, tricks or recipes that will impress. I am so nervous.

"Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it's better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring."
 Marilyn Monroe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 04-18-2012, 06:41 AM
Veggie Regular

"Hell exists not to punish sinners, but to ensure that nobody sins in the first place."
#3 Old 04-18-2012, 06:55 AM
Veggie Regular

Nothing that fancy, I need simple but extra tasty recipes. I am just a learning baker. I have been looking online for weeks now.

"Imperfection is beauty, madness is genius and it's better to be absolutely ridiculous than absolutely boring."
 Marilyn Monroe
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 04-18-2012, 07:30 AM
Not such a Beginner ;)

#5 Old 04-18-2012, 07:33 AM
Veggie Regular

I use recipes from VCTOTW and make them into big cakes - they are very reliable which is great, I find recipes online are very hit or miss which knocks your confidence as a novice baker! I would also suggest a recipe with something like banana in - it produces moist cakes that are less likley to sink in my experience, and always taste scrumtous with a lovley texture. My favourite is the banana recipe from VCTOTW and it never fails, and is flexible as you can add chocolate/coffee/nuts/etc. They also have a great chocolate mouse icing that is always a hit. I don't know if you have time/etc to buy the book but really that is what I would recommend.