Hun', look for the word "casein" which is a milk ingredient. It's in SOME (but not all) soy cheeses. Most people, like store employees, call soy cheese (with casien) "milk free" because they don't know any better. But now you do. Good luck, there ARE vegan soy cheeses out there. Some of them fairly good. And some are quite horrid. Hope you found one thqt suits you.