Savory breakfasts? - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-01-2009, 03:00 PM
Veggie Regular

I need to start packing my own breakfasts to avoid drive-through hashbrowns; I don't want to be a french-fry vegan.

The thing is, while I know eating some fruit for breakfast is probably optimal, I can't really stand the taste of sweet stuff first thing in the morning. Pretty much rules out most cereals, oatmeals, muffins, etc...

Anyone have some good suggestions for a more savory (salty/spicy?) breakfast I can make in a hurry?

PS: We don't use a microwave, so fast-heating stuff is out. And I'm a farmer, so I have chores before my day job; something I can pack for breakfast (maybe even the night before?) and go to work with would be totally awesome. I'm rarely hungry at the crack of dawn when I have to get up, but I'm starving by ten.

Thanks guys!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-01-2009, 03:02 PM
Veggie Regular

What about polenta with veggies on top?

Thumbs-up to not being a French-fry vegan. I will pray to spaghetti monster for that.
#3 Old 10-01-2009, 03:08 PM
Veggie Regular

Quote:
What about polenta with veggies on top?

Sounds good, I'll have to give it a shot! Or maybe alternately make some veggie grits with peppers, onions, etc... (sort of like polenta). I hadn't even thought of that, thanks!

Quote:
Thumbs-up to not being a French-fry vegan. I will pray to spaghetti monster for that.

It is a pain to find good breakfast stuff when you're not really a sweet-tooth kind of person...I don't even take sugar in my coffee.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 10-01-2009, 03:51 PM
Veggie Regular

I'm a fan of brown rice with beans (usually black) and corn for breakfast. It's filling and you can season it however you like it. (I like mine a bit on the spicy side.) I make it the night before and heat it up in the morning.