Hello from Kansas! - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 12-31-2008, 04:07 AM

Hello. My name is Dawn and I live in Kansas. My husband and I are new to vegetarianism, although I'm more strict than he is. I have been letting the kids eat meat, occasionally. They're pretty picky and meat is something they usually eat. I don't cook it for them, though; they have to get it when we're eating out or at family's houses. My husband's family is the most resistant to our "new" lifestyle and we are criticized a lot about our food choices. You'd think we joined a cult or something! I mostly changed my eating habits because of my high cholesterol level. I refuse to take statin drugs, so I've changed my eating habits and have taken up Jazzercise! I love it. I'm also a Juice Plus distributor and have learned a few things about eating habits and diets and nutrition. I'm still learning every day and look forward to some workshops within the next few months.

I also petsit and enjoy that. My dog is about a year and a half old and I've tried to feed her the veggie way, but she lost too much weight. So, I've got her back on a diet that I cook for her and also adding some very high quality dry kibble. She's put on some weight, but poor thing now thinks she's hungry all the time, even though I feed her three times a day.