slowly becoming Veg - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 12-27-2008, 06:27 PM
Veggie Regular

G'day guys. My name is Shane, i'm from Australia. I am a University student in Health Sciences as well as a semi-professional football player.

i'm very glad to find this board because I am kind of isolated in real life and in my diet. Going veg is a big step for me so i'm taking several little steps to gradually get there . I'm Aboriginal (indigenous Australian) and meat is a staple food in the Aborigine diet. In the traditional aboriginal dishes, the macro-nutrients would most likely be as 70% protein, 25% fat, 5% carbs.

The reasons i'm going veg (it's quite long but hey, i have time ):

- I am quite liberal and i always believed it's a part of nature to "eat or be eaten." However, I think human beings have taken it to extreme disastrous levels especially through globalization where there are such limited standards imposed on animal farming.

Battery farming, feeding growth hormones, slaughtering without sedation.. the list of unethical acts goes on.

- Too much protein from meat is not necessary for the body and can be detrimental. Bodybuilders all recommend 1 - 3g protein per POUND of body weight. For some, 60% of their daily calories is from protein. But Bodybuilders in most cases Take Drugs. They take Anabolic drugs or supplements which accelerate the body's absorption of protein. In their case, they wont have excess protein in their blood which gets filtered by the kidneys causing possible harm to liver and kidneys. For a drug free bodybuilder, 1.4g - 2g protein per KILOGRAM should be optimal and safe, depending on the individual.

- Saturated fats in meat. I don't think I even have to speak about how bad sat fats are.

That's basically it.

hope to meet you all
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 12-27-2008, 11:06 PM
Veggie Regular

Hello AussieShane! That's an interesting background. Most athletes are into practically nothing but meat.

www.thesaucyvegan.com