Hello from Connecticut - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-09-2008, 09:29 AM

Hello everyone. My name is Joanna. I am a 35 year old photographer and mother of two children, ages 9 and 5. I am also mom to two rescue kitties, a brother and sister who had to be adopted together. Best decision I ever made.

I am new to this whole thing so I am hoping to find the support and information I need to help make this an easy transition for me. I have been going back and forth for quite some time. My 9 year old has Celiac disease and is already on an extremely restrictive diet and I think that was part of what held me back a little.

I have been gradually cutting meat out of my diet over the last year and had cut down to about once a week and remained there for some time. I watched the meet your meat video and that gave me the final nudge I needed to go all the way. My 5 year old daughter has decided to join me. (my children attend Montessori school and already have a good understanding of Earth's creatures and how they are our friends and you should never hurt them...etc). I will encourage her but not force at this age. My older child is already vegetarian. My husband is not quite on board yet but I am hoping he will join me.

I look forward to getting to know all of you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-09-2008, 09:32 AM
Veggie Regular

welcome to VB, joanna.

you know you're required to post pictures of the animals in your life.
#3 Old 06-09-2008, 09:45 AM
Beginner

Hi Joanna!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 06-09-2008, 11:33 AM
Veggie Regular

Hi Joanna.

Welcome to VB and to the Veg lifestyle. This is definitely the right place to find support. You'll find quite a few members here with Celia's or a gluten intolerance, so hopefully you'll be able to get some ideas for coping and some recipes from them!

http://bringingyouohm.wordpress.com/

Lokah Samastah Sukhino Bhavanto

'May everyone everywhere be happy
May the whole world be joyous'