Newbie on the Block - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-04-2008, 08:51 AM

Hi, my name is Gypsy (nickname) and I have always stuck out in some shape or fashion. So why would my eating preferences be any different? I am new to the vegetarian way of eating. I had thought about it over the years, but never really gave in. One day as you may very well know, I watched a news segment about how these "downer" cows were being treated. He was obviously sick from maltreatment among other things. I was horrified. It made an instant movie in my head what these animals go through (abuse) and that we are being fed sick animals to increase the companies bottom line. I was sickened. I began to research online and check books out from the library about becoming a vegetarian. As I began to do this, I tried to go back to not knowing what I now know! What a humdinger, because it was not possible. I cannot eat meat any longer and have not, even though I tried. The smell was off and my desire gone.

I am mother of two daughters and we are embracing this lifestyle with ease. I have been focusing on becoming vegan, but allowing milk for them. It is much easier than I thought. I am not sure I will make it to being a vegan anytime soon. I have issues with giving up leather (not buying new stuff is an issue, but wearing the older stuff) and honey (buy it from a local bee keeping farmer). I am still doing tons of reading from the local library and also joining groups and forums on this lifestyle. I can honestly say that I feel exceptional that I made the right choice and I feel much better too!

Can't wait to take part in the discussions and learn so much more from people actually "living" this life day to day! Smile

-Gypsy
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-04-2008, 08:54 AM
Veggie Regular

hey! it's great to have you.
#3 Old 06-04-2008, 09:24 AM