• 1 Post By Naturebound
  • 1 Post By BlueMts
  • 1 Post By imtorf
  • 1 Post By heatherz82
  • 1 Post By Sboone11

#1 Old 05-03-2017, 02:02 PM

Exclamation New friend

Hello
I am Stephanie. I have been a vegetarian for 12 years. I transitioned to veganism at the start of the new year. I was born and raised in New York, where being a vegetarian isn't usually treated as quite a foreign concept. There are always naysayers and people who make jokes, but I could always deal with it so as long as I knew who my real friends were.
A little less than 5 years ago my husband and I had to move to the Prairie farm land of Eastern Montana for work. I am rather shy so it's already difficult for me to make friends and moving out here away from everything and everyone I've ever known, I found it especially hard. I have nothing in common with anyone out here. I have been working at the local school for 4 years and have yet to establish any deep friendships. I try to get to know people, force myself to make small talk. But I almost never get invited to do things outside of work. Could it be because I am awkward and shy? or is it because I am vegetarian and they don't think I will be able to eat at their house or find something on a menu?
I recently got into food photography. and I love it! One of the biggest reason I started taking pictures of my food is because I really want to shed a different light on veganism. I want people to see how beautiful, creative and healthy vegan food really is! Because it is way more than going home and tossing together a damn salad every night. While the response to my pictures has been very positive, it has done nothing for my social life. A coworker actually laughed at my lunch today! I was hoping after my coworkers saw my pictures, maybe they'd take me more seriously. I have never preached to any of them, it's just an automatic defense that happens when they see my food. I am sure all of you reading this know exactly what I am talking about.