Lonely Veggie from South Dakota - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 10-01-2004, 10:43 PM
Beginner

Hello. I am new to vegetarianism, I just made the switch at the beginning of the month. I did so mostly for animal rights reasons. I am currently still eating some fish, but I plan on phasing this out too.

My boyfriend and I have been eating very little meat in our diet for two years, but mostly because it was so expensive. I have a lot of veg friends, who chose this for varying reasons. But they only helped mildly in my decision. In the past I just thought it would be too hard, because the truth is I like meat a lot. It has been hard. I am considering the possibility of eating a range turkey for thanksgiving, once in awhile meat coming from humane farms. But yet this isn't consistent with how I feel, and the reasons I want to commit to a vegetarian diet.

As you can see, I am bit confused about all the contradicting thoughts I find in my head, and also in my stomach. Hopefully, I can stay strong and continue with a commitment to respect all life, a choice I know is right in my heart and head (even if now and then my stomach growls.)

If anyone reads my long ramble, and knows any veggies from SD, especially central ( I am in Pierre), please connect us. For anyone who knows anything about SD, its kind of a lonely place to be a veggie, considering we have highway signs that say "South Dakotans dislike all animal activism" and other BS like that. I did check out the local forums already, and it looks like no one from SD has posted there since last year. I will keep combing the sight for any sign of SD veggies. Thanks for having this great site.

PS If someone can tell me why I my IMG option is turned off and how to turn on or rules on this, PM me or something. Maybe it is just too late in the evening and I'm tired, but I can't seem to find the basic rules of the site section.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 10-02-2004, 08:11 AM