Hello. My name is... - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By Samantha.Nye
  • 1 Post By Naturebound

#1 Old 11-01-2015, 10:52 AM

Hello. My name is...

Hey, guys! I just signed up for these forums and I'm really excited to meet new people . Here's a little about me.

My name is Samantha. I'm 21 years old and am a very new vegan. I've only been vegan for roughly 3 months and it's been a journey to say the least haha. I got engaged in early October to my s/o of 6 years and am so excited to start the next chapter in our lives! He is not vegan and still very much likes meat. This is the first thing we've ever really not been on the same page about, though he has been respectful of my decision, as he sees why I made the change, and I am respectful of his, as I can kind of see why he hasn't. I'm currently an undergraduate student, graduating in May, then in Fall 2017, we will be getting married. I'm currently studying psychology and am placing my focus in quantitative psych, which has turned me into a (admittedly) huge data/research snob. Because of this I do kind of find it hard to really identify with a lot of fellow vegans on a lot of issues, but I live by one philosophy: Learn to love and respect those who not only think as you do, but those who don't. Anyway, I'll probably be seeing you guys quite a bit through this journey and I look forward to it .
MadamSarcastra and Sadrielle like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 11-01-2015, 11:06 AM
Vegan since 1991

Congratulations! Have you and your fiancé discussed whether or not your children will be raised vegetarian?

_________

Specific recommendations for a healthy diet include: eating more fruit, vegetables, legumes, nuts and grains; cutting down on salt, sugar and fats. It is also advisable to choose unsaturated fats, instead of saturated fats and towards the elimination of trans-fatty acids."
- United Nations' World Health Organization
http://www.who.int/topics/diet/en/
#3 Old 11-01-2015, 11:16 AM