New kid on the block - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
  • 2 Post By Danny Boy
  • 1 Post By Danny Boy

#1 Old 08-29-2015, 03:12 PM

New kid on the block

Howdy guys. Newbie here after watching the documentary, Speciesism earlier this year. Became vegetarian over night and last few months Vegan and mostly raw foods. Feel on top of the world and lost 50 pounds so far. Seems to be quite a learning curve to this lifestyle as I find myself constantly tweaking and refining it. Looking for a support community and thought I check this forum out.

Dan
LedBoots and veggie man like this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 08-29-2015, 03:40 PM

hey welcome to the site i have to say i haven't heard of the documentary speciesism, is it good?
#3 Old 08-29-2015, 05:14 PM
Super Moderator

Hey Day! So glad for you, and glad you're here!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 08-29-2015, 06:12 PM

Hi Dan, and welcome!

Wow, you've lost 50 lbs. That's quite an achievement. I think that speaks volumes about the incredible health benefits of a whole-food, plant-based diet.

While I had been gradually decreasing the amount of animal products in my diet for over a decade, I too became a vegan recently because of a documentary. In my case, it was Forks Over Knives. I learned so much about the health benefits of a vegan diet from that movie.

But while I became a vegan primarily for health reasons, I have come to embrace the ethical foundations of veganism as well. Two weeks ago, I watched the documentary Earthlings, and it nearly broke my heart. I am guessing that Speciesism is very similar to Earthlings.

If you are looking for a supportive community, you've come to the right place. VeggieBoards is a fantastic resource for vegetarians and vegans. Continued good luck in your journey following a plant-based lifestyle.
#5 Old 08-29-2015, 11:50 PM
Vegan since 1991

Hi Danny,