Hello from Ontario - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 03-02-2014, 08:24 AM

Hi everyone.  I'm new to being a vegetarian.  My wife and I made the transition about a month ago.  My greatest challenge may be getting enough calories because I'm a tall guy with a fast metabolism and I'm into endurance sports.  Right now I'm reading Eat and Run by Scott Jurek.  He's one of the greatest ultrarunners who is completely fueled by a vegan diet.  If he can run 100+ miles without meat protein, anyone can thrive without meat protein. 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 03-02-2014, 08:33 AM
Banned

Hi nater77, welcome (officially) to the forum!  Congratulations to you and your wife on making the transition to vegetarianism.  What was it that inspired you to change your diet?

We do have a running thread here on VB and I know there are a lot of members who are athletes and can offer good advice re: calories etc.

Fiona Oakes is a shining example of a vegan athlete as well as an incredible spokeswoman for animal rights.  She runs Tower Hill Stables animal sanctuary and combines it with her amazing success as a marathon and endurance runner.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-2205811/Inspirational-Women-Year-Fiona-Oakes-ran-desert-save-400-animals.html

#3 Old 03-02-2014, 11:00 AM

My biggest reason was the environmental footprint of a meat based diet vs. plant based.  My wife's biggest reason was ethical.  A documentary I watched called Vegucated opened my eyes to a lot.  The stats on the lessened rates or cancer, heart disease, etc. for vegetarians really sealed the deal for me on the health benefits.  Environmental, ethical, health - those are the three factors in the decision (probably in that order for me).

60225 likes this.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 03-02-2014, 11:02 AM

Hi nater77, welcome!  I'm glad you've joined us.