Vegetarian newbie here - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 09-24-2012, 07:47 PM

Hello. I'm interested in becoming vegetarian for a couple reasons. one of the main reasons is health and weight loss. also just trying something new and different. my current diet is obviously not doing much for me so i'd like to change it up. I'm going to slowly make the transition to becoming a vegetarian. (i'm not sure i can just give up meat cold turkey*no pun intended*) One of the main goals in my transition to vegetarianism is i would like a healthier diet filled with lots of veggies and fruits and a healthier life style. 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 09-24-2012, 09:01 PM
Banned

Vegetarian diets can be just as unhealthy as meat-based diets and they aren't going to promote weight-loss unless you commit yourself to a diet of whole plant-foods without adding a bunch of fat/oil to them.   

As for as the "transition method", you should cut out one meat out at a time.  Start with cutting out pork and beef, then cut out poultry and lastly fish.   If you just try to eat "less meat", its unlikely you'll ever cut it out.  

#3 Old 09-25-2012, 04:40 PM
Vegetarian