Introducing myself - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 06-28-2012, 11:18 AM

Hello, 

I'm Jackie and I'm new to the vegetarian world (as of 3 days ago). I just recently became aware of the widespread cruelty of factory farming (thank you Facebook) and can't stand the thought of perpetuating it. I don't know that I will ever become a full fledged Vegan but I am extremely interested.

I'm looking forward to finding out what the best tasting vegetarian/vegan brands are as I can't afford to waste any money right now trying stuff that's just nasty...lol! 

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-28-2012, 11:22 AM
Ankle Biter

Welcome to VB, Jackie!  There are all kinds of wonderful vegetarian and vegan options these days.  What kinds of foods do you like in particular?

It is our choices that show what we truly are far more than our abilities. ~A. Dumbledore
#3 Old 06-28-2012, 11:46 AM
Veggie Regular

Welcome!

You should check out the recipes forums - there are a lot of tasty vegetarian/vegan recipes that I'm sure you would enjoy.

Congrats on making the switch. smiley.gif

"Ugliness, if given a powerful voice, can be beautiful."

-Martha Graham

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#4 Old 06-28-2012, 02:45 PM

thanks! I like cheese, milk, ground beef, bacon, chicken and occasionally beef steak. I use a lot of boullion cubes for flavoring - which I'm sure is made of something I'd rather not know about so I need some sort of flavoring as well. There are not a lot of spices that I like other than onion, garlic, celery flakes, chili powder and salt.

There aren't a lot of choices in my area without traveling to another town nearby which I don't often do. 

I tried the Almond milk and it's good-it's a little thick but I plan to water it down just a bit next time. (I'm used to skim milk) I'm a bit concerned about drinking the almond milk because nuts cause my skin to break out. So I guess I'll try the soy milk next.