Hello, veggieboards - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 05-01-2011, 09:34 PM

My name is Berkeley. I have not started a vegetarian or vegan diet yet, but I intend to soon enough. I am the type of person who may be the last person anyone in my life would think would give up meat and/or animal products entirely.

I'm a university student. A few nights ago I was eating buffalo wings with my mates. Fairly typical meal. At some point during the meal, something clicked in my brain. I stared at the piece of meat in my hand, covered in blue cheese dressing, and the orange fried pieces of flesh amassed on the table in front of me. What seemed like the most enticing meal in the universe fifteen minutes ago now seemed grossly gluttonous and dirty. I took it all in for a few minutes, watching the guys devour the rest of the chicken like Super Hans over a table of narcotics. Maybe the two are similar. I finished the piece I was holding and guzzled down some soda to chase it out of my system.

I still feel the same way days later, and I haven't felt this way before, and I haven't eaten meat since (does fish count?). I have a strange craving to feel really healthy, to eat healthy things, to move away from the university student diet. Today I noticed that nothing I have to eat is healthy or satisfying, and mostly comes off the shelf in little boxes that probably are just relabeled Vietnam War surplus provisions.

My plans for the immediate future are to head down to the super market and get some fruits and vegetables. I don't know how long this experiment is to last. I don't have much in the way of guidance. I take a multi-vitamin every morning, but I guess I'm still one of the general public who thinks that vegetarians/vegans are sickly and anemic (I mean, if you get sick from having chicken broth, you must not be well, right?).

Anyway, I'll stick around the forums and learn some more about the lifestyle and see if it is something I would like to pursue seriously.