Vegan from Ontario Canada. - VeggieBoards
Forum Jump: 

#1 Old 01-31-2011, 01:45 PM

Hi there, I'm Talia.

I don't agree with stereotypes but I think labels help to easily describe yourself, as long as someone is willing to look deeper. I'm a vegan, straight edge, asexual, eco-feminist and activist.

I'm 19 and a university student. I'm majoring in environmental studies and may minor in women's studies next year. I spend most of my time doing readings for class or writing essays. When I have free time I draw, paint, write, go for walks to the forest, drink raspberry tea, and spend time with my animal friends. I live with a rescue dog (who is happily vegan), two rabbits, four birds, about twenty aphids now and some humans.

I've been vegan for a year and a half now, and I was vegetarian a year before that. I went vegetarian once upon a time because I read an article about the life of one downed cow. I said to myself that the mere chance that I could ever contribute to this kind of suffering was intolerable and I went vegetarian that day. I went vegan the day that I learned that being vegetarian doesn't reduce animal suffering - it actually prolongs it. The worst kind of animal suffering is experienced by milk cows and egg chickens, not the animals raised for meat.

I've done activist work over the years. I used to volunteer for a humane society (but they liked pets, not animals so I left), I plan to volunteer for a donkey sanctuary over the summer and I started a vegan club this year with my boyfriend at my university. We do a lot of outreach and activism work and are trying to build community.

In the end though I love animals, human and non-human. I'm a little jaded to the human kind sometimes, but I live my life in a way that eliminates as much suffering as possible and that sometimes involves being the 'good' vegan.

postveganism.blogspot.com

A reflective blog about what it means to be vegan in today's society.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement